Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for David Stevenson

David Stevenson
David Stevenson
  • 0
    Following
  • 9
    Followers
  • 13
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
June 5, 2015
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
United Kingdom

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
Non Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Does a correction to 4H on this hand bar partner under current rules (ACBL)?
Two points. First, several senior TDs believe that the wording of the law is such that you do not need to take a player away from the table. Second, whether you take a player away from the table or not, as you say nothing has changed: YOU DO NOT LOOK ...
Does a correction to 4H on this hand bar partner under current rules (ACBL)?
A denomination is a suit or NT. 3H is not an offer to play in NT. While rare there are occasional bids that are artificial and to play in NT, eg 2N 3S which some people play as to play in 3N so that 2N 3N means something else. But ...
Does a correction to 4H on this hand bar partner under current rules (ACBL)?
If you mean can he correct to 3N without penalty then it is not possible under L27B1A since 3H does not specify a suit nor under L27B1B since there are hands that would bid 3N that would not bid 3H.
Does a correction to 4H on this hand bar partner under current rules (ACBL)?
Why should that law not mean what it says? After all it seems obvious to me and others that it does. Why do you want it to mean something more? Since 3H shows no suits that law cannot apply.
Does a correction to 4H on this hand bar partner under current rules (ACBL)?
My apologies, Tom, perfectly correct. I was looking at the foolishness of pretending not to understand the completely obvious and failed to check my law book while doing so. At least I would have read the law if giving a ruling!
Does a correction to 4H on this hand bar partner under current rules (ACBL)?
Of course it isn’t. The word artificial is Bridge shorthand for meaning something other than what it sounds. Do you really and honestly believe when I respond a splinter that means to partner that if he passes I expect to make it? What I don’t understand is what ...
Does a correction to 4H on this hand bar partner under current rules (ACBL)?
Please, Ed, I expect better of you. A bid, not an artificial bid, is an etc. An artificial bid is a bid which is then given an artificial meaning. If a mongoose is an animal that can charm a snake that does not mean that a dead mongoose or a ...
Does a correction to 4H on this hand bar partner under current rules (ACBL)?
No. Of course not. The lawbook definition is spot on. The fact that some people make flawed deductions from it in non relevant situations does not change that.
Does a correction to 4H on this hand bar partner under current rules (ACBL)?
True. An ill thought out remark of mine. In effect it makes it a law whose practical application is so difficult that at least one of the alternatives considered must have been better, even if it is theoretically good.
Does a correction to 4H on this hand bar partner under current rules (ACBL)?
It is certainly not agreed at the highest authority whether this is a good practice or not. It is to be avoided that TDs make judgement decisions on the fly and there is a strong body of opinion that the advantage of the comparable calls law is that the decision ...
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top