Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for David Thompson

David Thompson
David Thompson
  • 5
    Following
  • 22
    Followers
  • 41
    Posts
  • 7
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 20, 2011
Last Seen
18 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Amateur player.  NPC of Australian Open Team for 2019. Occasional BBO commentator. Please note that any comments, views and opinions expressed in my posts here are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of the various organisations with which I'm associated be that by way of employment, membership, office holder or volunteer.

Country
Australia

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Beating Ish Del'Monte and my older brother in the final of the National Youth Teams in 1993.
Bridge Accomplishments
Won the 1993 Far East Youth Teams
Regular Bridge Partners
Jamie Thompson
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Melbourne Cricket Club
Favorite Tournaments
NOT
BBO Username
mrdct
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
How should the director rule
Here's the hand: http://www.abfevents.com.au/events/results/results.asp?yr=2019&dir=sn&E=0&R=8&B=14&T=O From the looks of it, NS were given an adjusted score of +2300. The score-up would've been fun, "-1210 (sorry); win 14".
Plea to BBO software developers
Tablet bidding is a complete no brainer. Basic Android tablets are completely fit for purpose, are cheaper than bidding boxes, are far less prone to cheating, take up less space and will facilitiate excellent data capture of alerts, explanations, tempo, etc.
Second trick
Slightly unrelated to the theme of this post, but this is a good example of a situation where after declarer wins the K you should leave your 7 face-up, have a look at the opps' convention card, ask a question or two about the auction, say "I'm thinking about ...
Revoke Question
When you revoke a second time in the same suit, it doesn't attract an automatic trick adjustment so I think this will just be a one trick adjustment.
Mindless revoke
I know the rules, but the revoker might be able to run an argument that the ruff wasn't a played card as it was exposed in the act of claiming or something like that. The point is that you should never be suggesting to the TD what the penalty ...
Mindless revoke
Other. I call the TD to inform him of the irregularity; what happens next is entirely up to the TD.
Opponents remind you of your own failure to alert -- AI or UI?
Yes.
How would you rule?
The hand came up last night and, sorry, it looks like I over-abbreviated the TD's ruling - the split ruling of NS retain the table result was indeed due to the TD taking the view that Declarer made "an extremely serious error (unrelated to the infraction)". As we didn't ...
How would you rule?
The TD, who is one of the most senior TDs on the WBF panel, ruled 4-1 for NS and 4= for EW; deeming that declarer made a serious error in conceding a trick to the Q. Fortunately, we had a big win in the final round to qualify ...
Alertable? (WBF regs)
1NT:(P):2 natural is clearly an alertable call in any jurisdiction.
.

Bottom Home Top