Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Debbie Rosenberg

Debbie Rosenberg
Debbie Rosenberg
  • 3
    Following
  • 332
    Followers
  • 62
    Posts
  • 45
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Oct. 9, 2010
Last Seen
2 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

It's hard for me to believe, but I've been a professional bridge player and teacher for about 30 years. Along with Michael Rosenberg, our then 14-year-old son Kevin, and my mom, Judy Zuckerberg, in 2011 I moved from NY to the Bay Area of California. When not teaching bridge, I'm often enjoying hiking with new friends in this beautiful weather, while Michael stays home to write comments on Bridge Winners articles.

While I've always enjoyed seeing young people learn bridge, in 2013 youth bridge become my passion.  That year I became a mentor and organizer in the USBF Junior training program, and co-founded a youth bridge organization in the Bay Area, Silicon Valley Youth Bridge.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Kevin at 9 playing duplicate with his great-grandmother, my Grandma Leah. Any memory of discussing or playing bridge with Rev Murthy
Bridge Accomplishments
World Junior Team Champion 1991; Cavendish Teams 1st place 1993; World Women's Pairs 1st 2002; Venice Cup 1st place 2007; Reisinger 3rd 2008; IBPA awards for Best Bid hand of the year with JoAnna Stansby in both 2006 and 2010 ; IBPA Sportmanship Award in 2012; Grand National Teams 2nd 2016; 1st 2017. Teaching some of my students to COUNT
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Palo Alto Bridge Center in Mountain View, California (ACBL Unit 503); Founder, Silicon Valley Youth Bridge
Favorite Conventions
Splinters, because they allow you to play the hand in the bidding
BBO Username
debrose
ACBL Ranking
Grand Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Alex Perlin Wins Second BBO Robot Championship
Well done, Alex! If I'm reading correctly, that is 1st out of 1799 players. Wow. Was it similar entry size last time Alex won? I'm beginning to see Jan's point, even if I can't confirm her spelling.
Michael Shuster's bidding problem: 8 AKJ963 Q KJT53
Yes, the report does mention polling. See the bottom of p.17 of the linked casebook: "... Several players were polled and none would have bid 4♠ with West’s hand no matter the agreement for 2NT. No polling was done to ascertain whether or not 5♥ should be allowed."
A Double Standard?
@Ken Rhodes You said "@Barry and Craig: You’ve both been playing long enough to remember when no doubles were alertable." I've seen you mention this a few times recently, that ACBL regulations once had no doubles being alertable. When was this? I've been playing in ACBL events ...
Google Knows Bridge
This might be the worst thread hijack I've seen on Bridgewinners. Sorry, Michael. It was an interesting thing you noticed, and it was reasonable to think the Bridgewinnners community might be able to help you verify and/or explain it.
Ruling please
Michael, I disagree that a director would never face the AQTx opposite J9xx situation. The fact that you would never claim there without a clear statement doesn't mean that nobody else would. I think there are at least a handful of players who might consider it beneath them to ...
Ruling please
Sorry, while I really shouldn't be spending time on this right now, I can't resist commenting a bit further. Apologies for the fact that I haven't read everything carefully. "2) The "Michael Rosenberg" way: If there is ANY sort of indication that declarer is not sure what ...
Ruling please
Yes, I think there is some chance that you would claim on the finesse with Qxx facing AJT without saying you'd play the Q. Not much chance, but some. And no, I don't think there is any chance that you would claim in the second case without saying ...
Ruling please
@David, Though I have many thoughts on the points you and Michael have each made, I don't want to spend much time on this right now. After a quick read of his last comment, I am tempted to argue with MR on your behalf, but I trust you can ...
Ruling please
You've got my vote, David. You said "I doubt that I would call the director myself in this position - I'd give my opponent his tricks if ♥K were onside. But if I were the director, I'd give the defenders a trick unless ♥K or ♥Kx were under ...
Ruling please
I agree that leading the 9 in the AQTx facing J9xx could be considered a "good" play for some level of player. Yet I don't see you, Michael, as any more likely to lead the J in that situation than you would be to lead low from dummy in ...
.

Bottom Home Top