Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Dennis Stuurman

Dennis Stuurman
Dennis Stuurman
  • 1
    Following
  • 4
    Followers
  • 1
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 17, 2014
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
Netherlands

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Alertable or not?
In the Netherlands beginners are taught to never bypass a Major at the 1-level. So if you play 5-card Majors and 1 can be 3 (or 2), then 1 - 1 - 1 can still be 4-3-3-3. If you rebid 1NT you deny 4 spades. That is bridge ...
Alertable or not?
If I'm your opponent and the auction goes: 1 - (pass) - 1 - (pass) 1 - (pass) - 2 - (pass) pass - ?? I would very much would like to know if 1 can have 15-17 with 4-3-3-3 here. In that case you might be in some 3-4 fit ...
Regular vugraph experience
Concerning explanations of the bidding, as a frequent BBO operator in the Netherlands I can say: - always try to find the players' convention cards. Usually there is a website of the tournament/competition on which they are published; else find a relative new one from Euro/World Champs/trials etc ...
Ruling question regarding an unalerted jump cuebid
JA: 'Do I have to whack him with the card? Special alert? Break procedure and write an explanation that was not requested? ' The Dutch screen regulations state that a player must be active in explaining unusual alerts, especially when an alert is required for a more common meaning of a ...
Ruling question regarding an unalerted jump cuebid
It just feels wrong to not explain the exact agreement about 4. I believe as East you have an obligation to do so behind screens. If I just alert, I would expect North to think I alerted because regulations tell me to alert a splinter bid. I would not ...
Who will watch the watchers?
Last year I kibitzed a match and the next thing happened. Declarer was in 5 with his spades being: K Q x (North, dummy) opposite A J T x x x (South, declarer) I was kibitzing West who held 8 7 x. In the play declarer used dummy ...
How to Probe for a Slam?
4, forcing. 2NT Lebensohl and 3 invitational. So what hand do you need to bid 4 NF? Too strong for 3, not interested in 3NT and not worth a jump to 5?
BBO format
I am wondering what will happen to broadcasts of tournaments. As far as I know you need the windows version to broadcast a tournament. Especially for loading the boards from a dup-file. But maybe BBO is working on a solution for this as well, although their information for people interested ...
Double shots? And Self-serving statements
I was making a general statement, rather than explaining what happened in David's story. I think the director should always check if the MI made the bad call or play more attractive or not. If so, then a score adjustment is due, if the player making the call can ...
Double shots? And Self-serving statements
Some player makes a bad call/play. Later he finds out there has been some MI. He calls director and states he wouldn't have done so with the right explanation. With the MI, however, he had even less reason for his bad call/play. He actually regrets his own ...
.

Bottom Home Top