Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Esko Pikataival

Esko Pikataival
Esko Pikataival
  • 11
    Following
  • 10
    Followers
  • 21
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 10, 2011
Last Seen
34 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

I have represented my country in our national team multiple times. I have been a member/chairman in our national laws committee (tasks including, but not limited to, the supervision of translation of laws 2007 and 2017).

Country
Finland

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Finishing a slam board in a restroom with my screenmate Peter Schaltz without involving the other side of the screen at all. See http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/quo-vadis-3
BBO Username
bagman, epika
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Does an "Attitude Signal" signal "what you want/don't want" or "what you have/don't have" (or something else?)
Our attitude signal tells what we have or have not. When dummy shows a guarded card we are expected to show attitude about, we switch the signal to count: A from AK, Qxx(+) on dummy -> count K from KQ, Jxx(+) on dummy -> count (once the trick is completed, leader will ...
Which Law says it's illegal?
Now you have summoned another case, where you might have some kind of privacy expectations. My response above was based on the assumption that the situation could be equivalent to a cigarette break outside and a pair there would discuss a board knowing that others can hear it.
Which Law says it's illegal?
There is an explicitly listed offence of talking about a board so that player "at another table" can hear it. The question is, AFAIU, if there is a law to extend the offence to cover "players standing somewhere away from the table". Otherwise, as you stated, the answer is obvious.
Which Law says it's illegal?
EDIT: If this about if "offence" is illegal, please skip. If this about extension of "at the table" to "in front of players", please read on. If you take a look at the law 90A, it gives the director quite a lot of powers to assess procedural penalties. One of ...
No Matchpoints
If the hearts are 3-3 in the 5 card end position, they are unlikely to be 4-2 later. If you cash the A, you make an overtrick, if the K falls. If all follow, you make the contract by giving away a diamond, setting up the last diamond. If LHO ...
No Matchpoints
How about cashing the A in the 5 card end position? If the K falls, you have the rest. If the position is as you thought, you can cash the last trump for a standard stepping stone squeeze.
Subjective probability
I agree that it's unlikely that a) South would bid like that b) would not start with a diamond to the Q. However, 3334 can be defeated with any reasonable defense.
Subjective probability
AFAIU, if declarer is 3-3-3-4, he cannot make more than 7 tricks and we have at least 6 tricks irrespective of what I do on the first round of diamonds. If I win the K, cash the spades and even cash the Q to set up the T for declarer ...
Forensic You be the Judge
The above was probably not enough to express my view about a concealed partnership understanding: if the partnership had a concealed partnership understanding about 3rd seat openings, it is very proper and suitable to throw them under the biggest bus approaching; the conclusions from the rest of the auction should ...
Subjective probability
Partner discards two hearts on the spades to signal K and declarer discards a heart on the last spade. Now what?
.

Bottom Home Top