Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Frances Hinden

Frances Hinden
Frances Hinden
  • 0
    Following
  • 155
    Followers
  • 101
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
May 27, 2014
Last Seen
28 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

I'm based near London, England and fit as much bridge as I can round my day job working in corporate treasury. I'm also vice-chairman of the EBU Laws & Ethics Committee. I play a complex system but find defence and declarer play more interesting than 'assign the blame' bidding problems.

Country
United Kingdom

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
Twice winner of the British Gold Cup and the Camrose, won the English Premier League and the Spring Foursomes. I sometimes play on the English Open team and reached the QF of the 2016 Olympiad
Regular Bridge Partners
Graham Osborne, Jeffrey Allerton
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Wimbledon
BBO Username
Finch
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Undo or No undo ?
To some extent this is just like when people call the wrong card at the table. People do this, try to change it, opponents object, then the TD gets called, and lots of people say things like "absurd to call the TD", "just accept it, it's obvious what they ...
Double Trouble
This auction is harder: 1 1 1 P 2 2 double
A junior defense
This is a massive blind spot for people A few years ago now, playing in the Camrose trophy, my partner had Axx in hand and K10x in dummy playing in 2NT, the Q was led and he won the king in dummy. Cue all the BBO commentators sounding bemused and ...
A junior defense
If declarer has xxx in spades then partner has only five, is that consistent with their methods?
A junior defense
On the second hand the same thoughts apply. If partner has the A I still can't see why declarer didn't duck the opening lead. Now you are going to give me a declarer play problem where LHO finds the Q lead from AQ9xxx, I know.
A junior defense
I like the first hand I note in passing that depending on the club 'x's one might hope that Smith Peters (or suit preference, which has the same effect) would help here. I also note in passing that an alert East might wonder why declarer didn't duck the ...
Do defensive beers count if diamonds are trumps?
The strict rules I was brought up with were that is has to be by the defence, in a non-diamond trump contract. The 'by the defence' or 'not in NT' bit gets relaxed slightly if everyone is thirsty, but it definitely can't be in trumps.
For mini-NT players
We play 1NT 10-12 and transfer responses to 1C 1C and transfer accept = 13-16, may have 4-card support 1C and jump raise the transfer - min unbal, 3 or 4 -card support 1C and 1NT = 17-19, won't have 4 card support vs in the 'strong' position 1C and transfer accept ...
Rearranged match in a local league
Michael - I'm confused. Teams A and B did indeed speak to each other to rearrange the match. They needed to tell the committee to avoid the club losing extra revenue. Or is it not so clear to you that (effectively) "club" is the same as the "Committee" ?
Rearranged match in a local league
Michael, the reason the committee is involved (and it's relevant) is that the club has lost revenue as a result - they assumed everyone would be playing so refused an alternative match.
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top