Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Frances Hinden

Frances Hinden
Frances Hinden
  • 0
    Following
  • 113
    Followers
  • 75
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
May 27, 2014
Last Seen
55 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

I'm based near London, England and fit as much bridge as I can round my day job working in corporate treasury. I'm also vice-chairman of the EBU Laws & Ethics Committee. I play a complex system but find defence and declarer play more interesting than 'assign the blame' bidding problems.

Country
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
Twice winner of the British Gold Cup and the Camrose, won the English Premier League and the Spring Foursomes. I sometimes play on the English Open team and reached the QF of the 2016 Olympiad
Regular Bridge Partners
Graham Osborne, Jeffrey Allerton
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Wimbledon
BBO Username
Finch
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Upgrades or not?
The first two are obvious strong NT The third one isn't, but 1NT has some useful pre-emptive power so it depends on position and vulnerability (obvious in 3rd seat NV, for example)
To Cover or Not to Cover...That is the Question!
Ps I can't think of any circumstances when I would give count. pps If you do cover, and declarer wins the ace and plays the 10, partner should win because you wouldn't have covered with Qxx. If you don't cover, partner will usually duck with the king.
A ruling conundrum
If playing under EBU regulations, I can't see anything that suggests 1 dbl 3 needs an alert whatever the range, as long as it is (i) not forcing and (ii) shows diamond support.
To Cover or Not to Cover...That is the Question!
If declarer has a doubleton and no outside entry, cover If declarer has a singleton and no outside entry, cover (because partner may duck) If declarer has a doubleton and an entry, play low. It doesn't matter if partner ducks. If declarer has a trebleton it doesn't matter
The unwitting accomplice in the split stake corners scam
I agree with Tom. You have to be pretty naive and/or stupid not to realise you are cheating the other two players.
A ruling conundrum
Yu The ACBL and the EBU do not have the same regulation for the use of the STOP card. The Norwegians have a different regulation - but the difference relates to when it has to be used, not what happens when it is used. The English regulation for the STOP card ...
And then CHO bid 2!D
Yes the bidding diagram implies you are East
And then CHO bid 2!D
Why not ask South?
What should 4NT mean here?
a) slam try in clubs b) pick a minor If (a) is pick a minor, then (b) becomes a slam try in clubs. I can see arguments for playing these either way round, but the first is the one that occurred 'naturally' to me because it's the same as ...
"I always ask"
The most common 'always ask' sequence is an artificial (alerted) call over partner's 1NT opening.
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top