Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Franco Baseggio

Franco Baseggio
Franco Baseggio
  • 9
    Following
  • 32
    Followers
  • 16
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
July 21, 2012
Last Seen
2 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Personal: twin dad 

Professional: statistical arbitrage

Bridge: impractical. 

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
Platinum Pairs 1st
Regular Bridge Partners
Andy Stark
Favorite Tournaments
Team Trials
Favorite Conventions
reverse western cuebid
BBO Username
baseggio
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Play this slam
Pitch a club. A, Q. Maybe K will be stiff. Maybe RHO will win and be forced to help. If LHO wins, or RHO wins and has a 3rd spade to play (or LHO plays a club through dummy), I'm reduced to playing for Kx of hearts onside. If ...
The Un-Basic Menace II
I wrote about phantom menaces a few years back: https://bridgewinners.com/article/view/phantom-menaces-and-post-squeezes-squeeze-topics-i/
The Un-Basic Menace II
Thanks. Fixed “4 clubs”, though weirdly there was a display issue: the source already had a space. The 2nd diagram I need to hack the auction to have South on lead. I wish there were better ways (known to me) to control this for end positions. I chose 5NT because ...
The Un-Basic Menace II
Can you give another example where an extended menace eliminates the need for a positional menace? I know of exactly two ways to do that, both very unusual (this article covering one of them). I think you’ll find any other (primary) compound still has a positional menace (by which ...
The Un-Basic Menace II
I find most complex squeezes can usefully be looked at as compound squeezes with some flaw, addressed with compensation. I find this least helpful with ruffing guard squeezes, though. As Len says, a key feature of compounds is that there is a basic / positional menace. Also, East isn’t squeezed ...
Make a Grand
A good aspiration for composed double dummy problems is “no red herrings”.
Adjusting the Hand Pattern
Totally right. I never noticed that.
Play or Defend 3NT
What if I play hq at trick 3? Say declarer crosses in clubs to play another spade, now I can play another heart and it transposes. So, declarer plays a diamond (which?) instead, ducked, and plays a spade. No time to work it out now, alas...
Play or Defend 3NT
I will think on that. I don’t immediately see any flaw.
Play or Defend 3NT
If South pitches another heart, East holds SQ and plays a heart, establishing a heart winner with diamonds still controlled. West can spare a long spade on this trick.
.

Bottom Home Top