Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Gábor Szőts

Gábor Szőts
Gábor Szőts
  • 6
    Following
  • 12
    Followers
  • 83
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
April 9, 2012
Last Seen
Aug. 16
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Electrical engineer (power system protection)

Used to play chess, now active in computer chess testing. Fond of classical music, pop music agreeing with my age, detective stories, thrillers, various sports, games of logic.

Started to play bridge in 1974. Won my first major tournament in 1980.

More interested in bidding than in card play.

I used to be a regular commentator at BBO. Now and then still do it.

 

Country
Hungary

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
Hungarian teams champion in 2011 and 2012, Hungarian IMP pairs champion in 2014. Once I executed an entry-shifting squeeze at the table.
Favorite Tournaments
Pula Bridge Festival
Favorite Conventions
1m-2m-2H showing a balanced hand
BBO Username
cicus
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Why don't DBL?
The real question is why he did not bid 3NT.
Liam Milne's bidding problem: 4 AQ7 AJ87632 AQ
3 seems obvious not because I don't feel it's a bit overweight but because I don't want to spend the remainder of the bidding with discouraging partner from clubs (after I have bid 3). I hope he's not going to hesitate before bidding 3NT ...
4-3-2-4
I would not include 5-6 in 2. You may need the 4th round 3 bid for something else, e.g. a control bid for hearts. Bid an immediate 3 over 2om with 5-6.
4-3-2-4
Well, Peg, in that case you might like this one too: Over 1m-1-1-2om (GF) we play: - 2: 3 hearts, balanced - 2: 2 hearts, balanced, no stopper - 2NT: 2 hearts, balanced with stopper - 3om: natural, 4 cards (3-suiter) - 3: 3 hearts, short om (5431 or 6430)
4-3-2-4
We have a clear rule in this situation: - 2 shows a balanced hand with 2 diamonds and denies a stopper - 2NT is balanced with stopper, 2 diamonds - 3 shows 3 diamonds without shortness - 3 is a splinter with 3 diamonds So we have an obligatory 2 ...
2nd round dbl by advancer
There is rule which I have learned from a Tom Townsend article on doubles and I think is a good one: If they reopen, double is for penalties. Exception: 1x-p-p-something.
2nd round dbl by advancer
That is a rather pessimistic view on both accounts. You do not base your bidding assuming the worst. And my proposed solution does just as well as the double if the first doubler never sits.
2nd round dbl by advancer
I wonder if you play an obligatory raise of 1 to 2 with 4-card support. If you do, and doubler practically never passes the double, then the double won't accomplish anything. You can bid 2 with a 3-carder, bid 2 with 5, and 3 ...
Meaning of constructive 4NT call
Richard, I think I misunderstood you first. What I mean is: Having bid spades you have no more the possibility to make a natural 4NT call.
The Cowboy and the Lady
How great thinking. Hats off to Meike!
.

Bottom Home Top