Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Greg Lawler

Greg Lawler
Greg Lawler
  • 0
    Following
  • 26
    Followers
  • 5
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 19, 2011
Last Seen
2 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

I am a math professor at the University of Chicago who played more bridge when I was younger (became LM when I was 22 in the late 1970s) but have played only infrequently in the last twenty years.  

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
I have gone through 2019 without winning a single ACBL master point
Regular Bridge Partners
none
BBO Username
fuquay (I often do vugraph commentary under this name)
ACBL Ranking
Silver Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
DEMIREV wins North American Swiss
As far as the HOF goes, there probably should be a discussion outside the realm of this particular case, about how to judge players who have been sponsors and won events on which they were not at the level of the other players (this conversation should be done independent of ...
Pick your poison
I chose the second option but that is because I would be trying to optimize fun rather than optimizing my chance of winning.
Should this bid be reported to the director ?
I think Art's point was that natural bidding would mean that N should have been 7 with the seven card suit to be consistent with the rest of the bidding.
Should this bid be reported to the director ?
Isn't a diamond lead "obvious" on this auction? Either the opponents have made a serious mistake (in which case lead does not really matter) or the diamond bid was clearly a lie.
Ok. A stupid question on a Wednesday evening.
You didn't tell us whether or not you ducked the second diamond.
Simultaneous play and claim
Were these questions supposed to be addressed to John?
Simultaneous play and claim
By the way, if I were playing at a club I would just let it slide and not insist on a trick. I do not object to not enforcing rules to the book in a friendly low level game since the main goal is enjoyment. I was answering under the ...
Simultaneous play and claim
My point is that the fact that she was claiming does not undo the misplay. If she very quickly replaced the misplay in the same way that might be allowed in the regular play of the hand, then maybe it is Ok. But, indeed, she played the wrong card.
Simultaneous play and claim
If it had been the case that I was going to lose the current trick but I would have the rest I could well claim at the same time that I am losing the trick. And I would say that I have the rest meaning all those after this trick ...
Simultaneous play and claim
If she really pitched at exactly the same time, I would interpret her sentence "I have the rest on a cross ruff" to mean the rest of the tricks after that trick.
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top