Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Jeff Aker

Jeff Aker
Jeff Aker
  • 4
    Following
  • 17
    Followers
  • 2
    Posts
  • 5
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Sept. 30, 2010
Last Seen
9 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
4th place as member of USA2 in 2015 Senior Bowl; reaching quarterfinals of 1988,2009 and 2015 Spingold
Bridge Accomplishments
see above
Regular Bridge Partners
Kate Aker, Doug Simson, Barry Rigal
Favorite Tournaments
Trials
BBO Username
jaker
ACBL Ranking
Diamond Life Master
What is a good grand slam?
I remember reading that Hal Sims told his teammates never to bid a grand slam. Before the days of Blackwood, to be sure.
What is a good grand slam?
I had a partner who told me that in a reasonably long knockout match the odds you needed to bid a grand should equal your estimate of the odds you have of winning the match. It's not a bad rule of thumb. I once lost a match for being ...
WOLD is Senior USA1
Congratulations guys, great job.
Who Goofed
Against us in the other semifinal, West competed to 3d on an otherwise identical auction, making 4 (guessing trumps after 3 rounds of clubs) At the other table, after a natural 1c -1d-p-2d South bid 3d and wound up -100 in 4c, so competing to 3d was worth 3 imps ...
Why aren't you playing in the USBF Trials?
2008 Palm Beach was also opposite a regional
To finesse or drop
The calculation can be simplified. The contract is only at risk if east has both of the small spots spots and a singleton club (leaving west with 6 clubs). This leaves east with 10 spaces for the K of clubs and east with 7. Thus, in the 17 cases where ...
Withdrawal from an Open Trials team - GCOC change proposal
Sure, but that's why we have a credentials committee, which would scrutinize such a situation.
Withdrawal from an Open Trials team - GCOC change proposal
By omitting any reference to illness or emergency, we mean to say that the requirements for the remaining players are unchanged. If a player's partner withdraws for any reason and he/ she chooses to withdraw as well, the same presumption applies.
All the Clues
In the other semifinal match the contract was also 4hx at one table. The play started similarly but when east won the Q of clubs he cashed one diamond before shifting to spades. Now after the loser on loser play in clubs there was no way to get back for ...
Faulty Claim Ruling
According to the narrative, declarer didn't say he was going to test spades...evidently he thought he had 6 spade winners. Arguably, the second round discard wouldn't change that opinion. If he plays 5 rounds of spades pitching clubs (why not after all, he's going to pitch ...
.

Bottom Home Top