Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Jeff Ford

Jeff Ford
Jeff Ford
  • 194
    Following
  • 56
    Followers
  • 125
    Posts
  • 9
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Jan. 8, 2011
Last Seen
22 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

I recently completed six years on the Board of Directors for the Seattle Bridge Unit. I am on the ACBL Board of Governors and the Competitions and Conventions Committee. I also help manage and direct a once-a-week bridge club on Mercer Island. And occasionally I find time to play bridge too. Smile

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

BBO Username
jeffford76
ACBL Ranking
Gold Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
The problem is bigger than the Stop Card
For the first case, this sounds like a frustrating situation, and clearly it would be better for players not to ask questions in situations like these. However, just to be clear, there is nothing illegal about asking about the auction at your turn to call. It puts your partner under ...
One player has the correct hand. Ruling...
Everyone at fault is average minus to both sides, not NP.
Namyats and related alerts
This is in the ACBL Alert Procedure here as something requiring an alert: http://web2.acbl.org/documentLibrary/play/AlertProcedures.pdf Example: 4, openings which are natural but are weaker than might be expected because the partnership has some other method (an example is the Namyats convention) for ...
Jeff Ford's bidding problem: A6 K52 KT92 KQ82
For us, 4 over 2 would have been a (mild) quantitative NT invitation. We would always want the NT opener to declare 4.
Jeff Ford's bidding problem: A6 K52 KT92 KQ82
I don't think opener is ever doing anything but bidding 4 over 4, no matter what their hand, no different than over a direct 4-level transfer.
Jeff Ford's bidding problem: A6 K52 KT92 KQ82
The companion hand was KQJ732 AQJ8 A8 3, so at least that day you wanted to be in 6NT.
Going over the convention card
If I were playing with a novice, I would assume we don't have a power lead vs NT.
Is an alert required?
This information should be in the initial post if you want accurate answers. When I read the initial post I assumed the 3 call was the agreed bid with that hand, which would be an alertable call. Partner inventing something at the table doesn't make it alertable.
STOP (to support Adam W, et al.)
That alternative is what was presented in the C+C meeting.
STOP (to support Adam W, et al.)
While this is very well thought out, the Competitions and Conventions Committee voted in the Spring to recommend removal of the STOP card entirely. I would be surprised if the Board of Directors doesn't pass a motion removing it in Toronto.
.

Bottom Home Top