Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Jeff Goldsmith

Jeff Goldsmith
Jeff Goldsmith
  • 0
    Following
  • 48
    Followers
  • 1
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
April 22, 2015
Last Seen
11 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

The most information about me is at my website, http://www.jeff-goldsmith.org/  (The ".org" is misleading.  I'm not very organized.)  The bridge stuff is pretty extensive; it's been going on for 20 years or so.

\n

 

\n

In real life, I'm a software engineer.  I used to be a computer animator.  I did a lot of stuff which sometimes plays on Nova, including Voyager's encounter with Neptune.  A curious happenstance: I was sitting at a table at a nationals and realized that three of the four players were trained as differential geometers.  Not a common occupation.  Nowadays, I work at making the internet faster.

\n

 

\n

In bridge, I'm a team lead on the National Appeals Committee and a casebook commenter.  I've done more than thirty of them.  I'm a minor member of the Conventions and Competition Committee (C&CC), minor because my appointment came at a point in life where I am unable to attend many nationals.  I made this clear before accepting the nomination.  With some luck, that will change; I hope to get to two of them a year for the next few years.  As a working stiff, I tend to play on weekends.  Most of my vacations are national bridge tournaments.  Some of my previous partners have been some of bridge's more colorful figures.

\n

 

\n

I'm also into strategy board and card games.  I can often be seen at nationals after the game playing/teaching/toting them.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

BBO Username
JeffG
ACBL Ranking
Platinum Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Blue Over Red Boards
Ellis, unless you are running multiple sections, color of boards isn't going to be a big issue. In a single-section game, it's really hard to get boards passed from the other section!
Blue Over Red Boards
It's neither tradition nor rules, but standard practice. The boards' being the same color as the section means that players who are passed the wrong boards may be able to know it quickly. Furthermore, pickup slips and/or travelers (in the old days) normally matched the section as well ...
Blue Over Red Boards
Red boards at regionals? There's no red section. Boards are supposed to match the section's color. The sections are white, yellow, green, orange, blue, or pink. We should never be using red boards. The ACBL and its districts/units should never be buying red boards. That said, poor ...
Scoring in Bridge
For years, we played a money IMP game in which undoubled overtricks did not count. Furthermore, we yapped at players who delayed claiming. I'd like to say it sped up the game considerably, but we still took about four hours for four 8-board matches. There are some unexpected consequences ...
Coffee housing
Sure. Declarer will laugh. Maybe call you a name under his breath just because. You then say, "you asked for it!" and laugh back. Happens from time to time, though usually it's fourth hand who hesitates just to mess with declarer. It is important to play your card very ...
Coffee housing
How is it unethical? It's certainly not illegal. Law 73E2 says, "...who could have been aware, at the time of the action, that it could work to his benefit...." East knew that it couldn't possibly help him; declarer was about to see the last two spades and breathe ...
Coffee housing
Nobody needs any penalties or anything of the sort. Just score it as making. East was (normally harmlessly) messing with declarer. Something went wrong along the way, so restore equity.
Peeking
Before doing something like that, I'd be VERY careful to be sure that the board was yet to be played. A director who is relaxing in the middle of the room and not watching any match could easily make an embarrassing mistake. Confronting the player is reasonable---then if the ...
YBTJ-wrong contract
No, he passes.
It's Your Ruling
Moving the 1 was clearly an accident. Each side knew that. The accident isn't a PP offense. The appealing side's bad result had nothing to do with the accident, and they know it. They were trying to get something from nothing. That's worth a laugh-at.
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top