Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Jim Munday

Jim Munday
Jim Munday
  • 198
    Following
  • 140
    Followers
  • 155
    Posts
  • 21
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
July 27, 2010
Last Seen
29 seconds ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Living near Memphis, frequently found on BW or BBO.

Part-time engineering consultant; sports enthusiast, and puzzle maven.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Making KO round in 1st US Trials experience
Bridge Accomplishments
1st 2013 Fast Pairs, 3rd Platinum Pairs 2015, 2nd 2013/2015 NAP Flt A, King of Bridge 1984,
Regular Bridge Partners
Sue Munday, Larry Sealy, Richard Pavlicek, Richard Oshlag, Alex Kolesnik, Bill Hall
Favorite Tournaments
Nationals
Favorite Conventions
XYZ
BBO Username
jmunday
ACBL Ranking
Grand Life Master
Paul Linxwiler - Jim Munday
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Alex Kolesnik - Jim Munday
2/1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Mark Bartusek - Jim Munday
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Dave Smith - Jim Munday
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Richard Oshlag - Jim Munday
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Larry Sealy - Jim Munday
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Paul Munafo - Jim Munday
Copy to my cards View/Print
Assign blame
Scoring method is not provided but in MPs you'd not want to be in 5.
A Very Amusing Board
Well, a spade lead would have done OK.
Does This Landy Variant Have a Name?
I actually play something called Dandy and it is similar to the above. 2 is either or +major. X is various things including both majors , 2 = +major and 2M natural.
Keycard response with ten trump
Worst case off AQ, then still have 50% chance. Otherwise slam is an even bigger favorite.
Liam Milne's lead problem: T3 2 AT82 KT9862
It's even simpler than that. Don't explain 2N as "Jacoby" (names of conventions are not explanations) , simply as a GF major suit raise. The decision to bid 2N is about captaincy. A 2N response makes responder captain, a splinter makes opener captain. Responder can use their judgement over ...
The Lead-Out-Of-Turn Coup
I'm confused (generally). How does 4 rounds of diamonds help us whether we play the Q or not? The opponents have 3 diamond winners. A, then a diamond through the Q. LHOs 9 wins the 4th round.
Declaring a hand after enemy preempt
I'll wait for partner's actual dummy before deciding on a line of play.
How many times? II
If the black suits split we have play for 7 and it is MPs.
Robots did me dirty
This was a reasonable play but something to consider is that the robot might not have covered from QTx --- you could have 10 trumps and be fishing for example. All depends on that Monte Carlo magic.
Christopher Donnelly's bidding problem: 2 AK75 --- KQJ97653
Would it be clear to bid 6 over 5? Why would partner pass 6 if 5 was exclusion? Surely it's possible to try for a grand and rebidding the key card suit is asking for kings / trump Q etc. That said my comment was mostly ...
.

Bottom Home Top