No one mentioned whether either play was clearly logical from
declarers holding. For example, declarer would usually not play the Ace from dummy if he held the stiff K. I witnessed a high level match where the declarer actually called for the "wrong" card and was allowed
to change it ...
I abstained because I would bid 1d/1c. You can handle any subsequent bids.
Most opponents reopen with a dbl if it goes 1c-1d-p-p like you expect. Now you can bid 2c to describe your hand. If partner is so rude as to bid 2h, you can bid 3c.
Unless you can right side the contract your hand is probably only worth 8 pts.
So why not 2NT? If partner bids 3C with 4 3 1 5, rebid 3D and raise partners M response to 4. If he bids 3M over 2NT (5-4 Majors) raise to 4.
With a ...
I doubt that there was ever a game played with human referees where every call (or non-call) was absolutely correct. Even the "regulars"
have made game changing miscalls. So why must this one be singled
out as "cheapening" the game? Ironically, Seattle lost a play-off game
to Pittsburgh due to ...
The silence of RHO is deafening. He may have short H's and long S's and is welcoming your entrance.
Partner most likely has a H stack or 12- blah pts without good S's. If he can punish LHO by passing your dbl then
he also likely has ...
I agree with your reasoning. Partner also knows
declarer has a spade stopper. The only question
is are they set to run diamonds or clubs? Partner
must be looking at a diamond stopper to dbl so declarer most likely has solid club suit.
All that is left to lead is ...