Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Joe Hertz

Joe Hertz
Joe Hertz
  • 16
    Following
  • 13
    Followers
  • 11
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
April 24, 2012
Last Seen
Oct. 19
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

 

    • Designated TechnoGeek of ACBL Unit 218 (Northern Virginia). Where I come from, gcc is a compiler, not a convention chart.

 

    • I want to play against everyone. I prefer Stratified to StrataFlighted events. I wonder if I'm the only one who feels that way.
    • My least favorite event is whatever the Swiss is happening on the last day of a Sectional or Regional.

 

    • I'm 13-0 in team matches vs people who were booked when I asked about their availability...so if I ask you, please say yes.

 

 

    • I once had an opp compliment me on how nice I was about calling the director on them.

 

    • That being said, both of the people I've filed player memos on are dead now.

 

 

 

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
A long shaggy dog story when I was a NLM, involving a whiny opponent when Jeff Roman jumped into the argument and showed me how the clowns would eat me unless I played A/X exclusively. Six months later, I wound up winning the D6 GNT-C, and immediately thanked him for slapping some sense into me.
Bridge Accomplishments
2010 GNT-C QF
BBO Username
JoeCritter
ACBL Ranking
Silver Life Master
Joe And Mike O
Walsh Style 2/1 GameForce
Copy to my cards View/Print
Director Pleas
Just because declarer didn't remember there is a trump out doesn't mean you can make them ignore their own eyes when it actually shows up. That's crossing the line between "careless or inferior" and "irrational". If the N/S or (even the E/W hands) were reversed ...
Demanding revoke correction
This is something I've never quite understood -- I expect because I've seen so many crummy rulings that they've made me confused as to which one is the wrong one. EDIT: Answered Below. It's 64C2(a). Say we have just the first part of OP's case ...
Demanding revoke correction
"Demanding" everyone counts their cards again isn't so unreasonable. If you do it before the revoke is established, I'd think it's actually a rather charitable act. I've had it go the other way where defenders complained that I *didn't* say anything after I "noticed" their ...
Demanding revoke correction
*A* trick must be won. It doesn't need to be that one. [i]There is no automatic trick adjustment following an established revoke (but see Law 64C) if: 1. the offending side did not win either the revoke trick or any subsequent trick. 108. it is a subsequent revoke ...
Farewell
I'm frankly appalled that the ACBL doesn't go to gaming conventions and run duplicate bridge events. The market we're not reaching is *totally* into board and card games. Heck, even offering to pay some of ACBL member's GenCon membership if they'd just wear some t-shirts ...
bridge experts with gambling addiction?
Omar Sharif. Said he was fine walking through a casino. He could even watch people gamble without a problem. He felt no compulsion to gamble himself. When a spot at a table opened up, and he was asked if he wanted to play himself, even that wasn't a problem ...
How would you rule?
Thank you David for saying it better than I could. Along the same line of thought, there have been NABC appeals which turned on the presumption that declarer is entitled to think that a defender is out of a particular suit when he revokes (or that there must be no ...
How would you rule?
Should South have received a correct explanation? Yes. Should South have figured it out that she did not? Probably. Was the lack of correct explanation connected to the damage? Yes! So what if she should have figured it out? By the time she "should" have figured it out it's ...
How would you rule?
Ah. I thought you were replying to my comment above. I was saying give West KJTXXX and the QX while east has the AQ. Yes the lead won't be the same. But it would have been a plausible distribution. I agree E/W have to be giving 4 ...
How would you rule?
So swap the red queens and change west's distribution of spots slightly so he still has 6 hearts. Yeah, he'll return a heart then (and the King won't be lead), but now we're asking what constitutes a serious bridge error for south not to be able ...
.

Bottom Home Top