Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for John Adams

John Adams
John Adams
  • 135
    Following
  • 155
    Followers
  • 105
    Posts
  • 280
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Oct. 24, 2011
Last Seen
6 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Board member and Past President unit 448 (Spokane/Eastern Washington).   Bridge Teacher.  Club director.   Opinionated. 

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Playing rubber bridge in college
Bridge Accomplishments
Dozens Regional victories, Top 5's in Nationals, Lovenberg winner. Was once in top 10 all time Platinum point holders.
Regular Bridge Partners
Gard Hays, Catherine Creer, Lea Rogers, Charlie Bennett, Dave Westfall
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Spokane Bridge Club
Favorite Tournaments
WBL sectionals/Regionals
Favorite Conventions
2/1 with Kickback, xyz
BBO Username
KJADAMS
ACBL Ranking
Platinum Life Master
Lasota-Shaw 2/1
2 over 1 with transfers over 1C opener
Copy to my cards View/Print
Robinson-Adams 2/1
2 over 1 with transfers over our natural 1C opener
Copy to my cards View/Print
Stan-John 2/1
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Cole-Adams 2/1
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Shi-Adams 2/1
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Gill-Adams 2/1
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Pete C and John
Copy to my cards View/Print
UI logical alternatives? (Bridgewinners Poll suggests yes, surprising to me)
I don't get why you led a heart. If partner's double is penalty and shows diamonds, then it's penalty and shows diamonds.
Alert a natural preempt?
At favorable, any 7 card suit will do. It's not just a partnership thing, it's what I teach the new players. Preempts work. Rules against preempting at favorable work against you. No way am I going to communicate to them that this style is unusual, since I am ...
YBTJ-spade game missed?
Marty, my claim goes beyond that. With 6-4, we will correct 3N to 4 if partner goes through 2N. For me, 2N invites partner to the party. I won't correct 2 P 3N with 6-4 however. That does not invite me to the party. I admit there ...
Alert a natural preempt?
So a 3 level preempt on KQJTxxx xx xxx x is down 3 at unfav. I would likely bid 3 on that hand too. Do I need to prealert?
Puzzled by Evening Swiss Ruling in San Francisco
I suspect my side should have gotten the best of likely results or +500, and their side should have gotten the best of their likely results, or -400. That treats both sides as non-offenders without giving one side an impossible windfall result. Then you IMP both sides. E/W does ...
A Simple Question
Peg, They did that against me too, only their side suit was KQJxxx. Did not work then either.
Debbie Rosenberg's bidding problem: QT8764 3 T85 732
The 2nd double is needed to warn partner against sacrificing. As you can see from this poll, 3 quarters think they know better than partner does. Curious how many would have bid 4 had partner not doubled? Curious if some pass when partner passes, put pull when partner doubles ...
It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.
We looking at the same hand? You would have to cheat to take fewer than 10 tricks.
A Simple Question
I played out a hand this week. Guy won my Jack with the wrong Queen, and established the revoke with a lead out of turn. I was headed for down 1 if I claimed early, made an overtrick instead. (scored my Jack and a one trick penalty for the revoke ...
A Simple Question
No, claiming for me means "the rest of the tricks." Conceding gives up one or more tricks that might be gained through opponents misplay.
.

Bottom Home Top