Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for John Cox

John Cox
John Cox
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Basic Information

Member Since
Nov. 4, 2016
Last Seen
23 hours ago
Member Type
bridge player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Stong marmic
It doesn’t seem like a very difficult problem. I double 3D for take out and partner bids game. If I don’t have the agreement that undiscussed doubles are for takeout, chalk up -11 IMP or whatever and move on.
Was this (not) funny enough?
What’s wrong with W adjusting his or her bidding to suit his or her partner’s over-aggressive tendencies?
Point of No Return
Aha - a scrolling issue. I overlooked the opening 3C bid; adding that to the equation answers both my questions rather trivially. As to the 4D hand, how did the club play go? And for that matter the trump play? Presumably after two rounds of clubs partner hoped declarer was 1273 ...
Declare 7NT on the Nine of Diamonds lead
Do you? I can’t imagine covering the KC. Declarer drove 7N over 2C; he isn’t going to need three club tricks. And the guy knew dummy had three Aces before he led, he had time to think about this.
Point of No Return
Really good article. I don’t follow why your partner was on lead at all against the Auken /Welland 5C? Is a double of 4S to say you want to bid 5C a common method? It seems quite a specific hand-type. Also don’t follow the defence to 4D against ...
Honolulu BRP 7NT Lead Discussion
With regard to Kit's example hand above, obviously there is a problem with the number of keycards, but if we adjust the hand to allow for that, so that instead of AJxxx of hearts it is Kxx KQxxx Ax AQx (and forget that that hand might be some kind ...
Honolulu BRP 7NT Lead Discussion
"After all, East's conversion of 7♠ to 7NT is also an undeniable mistake perpetrated by an expert, and probably even more egregious than a non-♦ lead from North." Sure, but then North has been woken up by East's comment to the definite possibility that EW are off the ...
Cool ending Evidently your layout in the post above is a simple guard squeeze. The one in your OP doesn't seem to be either a straight guard squeeze or a straight double guard squeeze.
Honolulu BRP 7NT Lead Discussion
Anyway the ruling in question was an appeal. We don't know which of the partnership decided to appeal, but likely it was a team decision.
Honolulu BRP 7NT Lead Discussion
C’mon, no-one doubles 4C just because they have AC! He’s expecting to be on lead against a spade contract, not defending 7NT.
Not following anyone yet

Bottom Home Top