Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for John Portwood

John Portwood
John Portwood
  • 0
    Following
  • 7
    Followers
  • 96
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 23, 2011
Last Seen
4 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Now in Mid 50s, have been member of one bridge club for 40 years - and pretty well play in the one club. Married with one youth and work in insurance.

I like to think that I am a highly ethical, polite and considerate to partner and opponents.

 

Country
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Overcalling a multi 2D on a six card spade suit - only to find that that was the suit intended.
Bridge Accomplishments
Winning a pack of 6 mixer drinks in an EBU magazine competition
Regular Bridge Partners
Professor WJ Zakrzewski
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Durham
Favorite Tournaments
Don't play in any.
Favorite Conventions
My own!
BBO Username
weejonnie
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
A New Ethics?
How does the decision affect the field? It doesn't add a single matchpoint on a single-winner event - all those who lose a matchpoint to the beneficiary, gain a matchpoint from the person who does worse. (I agree that whenever attention is drawn to an irregularity the director should be ...
A New Ethics?
The way things are going - the open events will soon be playing fewer boards than the seniors.
A New Ethics?
Law 45 and Law 47 - however the correction would not be allowed these days as declarer played from her own hand (and many other times) before mentioning it - IIRC. If someone says "Oh shit! I meant to call for the K not the K" then that would be ...
A New Ethics?
(And just try ruling on that!)
A New Ethics?
The "without pause for thought" WILL be removed as the 2017 laws are enforced. However that does NOT apply to played cards. You may correct a mechanical error when bidding (i.e. pulling out the wrong card from the bidding box - or a slip of the tongue). DECLARER can change ...
Oren Kriegel's lead problem: QTx AJT Q8xxx Ax
If partner can then hasn't he just won the 4th trick? If a diamond lead is correct then in most cases you will be able to switch to a diamond after cashing the A without losing anything as you would be able to ruff the third club high ...
Implications of the missing board 16
They won't know - and if one side is obviously doing so then I am pretty sure they fall foul of law 90. Remember that at the highest levels, players of nearly equivalent standard of the contestents will be watching. The English Soccer Authority is about to issue bans for ...
Implications of the missing board 16
We played bridge for 75 years using 16, 32 and 64 board sessions. Why not have a 'chess clock' (hidden from the players), independently monitored and, if time runs out, fine the pair that has taken the longest, 3 imps an unplayed board.
On lead, having a Minor PC
Law 52A states .... as required by law 50 and 51. Law 52B states ... "when required by law to play a card." When you are on lead you are required to play a card. (Unless you claim of course..) - lead is defined as "The first card played to a trick) So ...
Lead Out of Turn
If you leave 10 on the table, you can force West to lead a club when you lose a trick to him - if it seems wise. The opening lead in another suit may actually help you. You may thus gain a tempo
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top