Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for John Torrey

John Torrey
John Torrey
  • 6
    Following
  • 15
    Followers
  • 163
    Posts
  • 14
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 28, 2011
Last Seen
5 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Director
about me
Semi-retired as ACBL director after 16 years. Still thinking and writing about the game; no "full time" partnerships
Country
Un

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
Three and a half articles by me were published in the Bridge World (1990s). My Bridge Cartoon is st
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Triangle BC, Durham NC
Favorite Conventions
Astro
BBO Username
jtxyzzy
ACBL Ranking
Gold Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Is there a trick to lose
Law 90: "The Director...may also assess procedural penalties for any offense that unduly delays or obstructs the game, inconveniences other contestants, violates correct procedure..." Many of these apply here. I would not do this in my club, but higher the level of this event, the more I feel a ...
Trick 2 Defense
The hand is from Winning Suit Contract Leads, by David Bird and Taf Anthias (page 71 in my edition). West has 8 2 A 9 6 3 7 5 K Q 8 5 4 "..let's follow the play in 2 when West makes the approved lead of the ...
Has this happened to anyone else?
Bracketed KO. Round 1: 3-way small win, big loss Round 2: 3-way small win (beating the team we lost to in round 1), big loss. Round 3 close win head-up vs team that blitzed us in round 2. Round 4 loss. Second overall, with one net-winning session and net-plus vs ...
Director Problem
ACBLScore: First the movement should be changed (EDMove) to have the pairs actually playing the board as oppnents for that board. (It will ask if this is a "partial round adjustment". It is.) The correct pair that did not get to play should get the equivalent of average plus, possibly ...
2NT and puppet stayman
Using 3 to get to 3NT may give information to the defense. Evsn 2NT 3 3 3NT gives such information, as do auctions with other opener rebids. In addition, the artificial 3NT response may be forgotten - not so bad when opener forgets and passes, but really bad ...
Is this AI or UI?
Suppose that the original West became ill after East had won the ace of hearts and dropped the deuce. You (a bystander with no knowledge of the play so far) fill in for the original West. You are told that the two of hearts is a minor penalty card. You ...
Tales from the Attic: Contest Bridge.
My recollection is different. I found that almost - perhaps all - the questions came from the bridge literature, with many from the Bridge World's Master Solver's Club. I got an issue and entered, after doing extensive research. One was a lead problem: you hold A Q 10 6 2 ...
An Embarrassing Unintended Pass
The ACBL has director-guidelines that (as I recall) would disallow your pass as a "mechanical error." (Different part of the bid-box, etc.) But Law 25A makes no mention of mechanical error: the test is whether the call was unintended when made. I believe your pass was unintended and would rule ...
Get the Promotion
Right. Diamond to dummy, then spade to king if East plays low.
Get the Promotion
At double dummy, South can make by leading a spade to the king at trick two, then a club to the king. East wins and drives out the remaining heart winner. Now South can make by playing a spade (West has no more hearts) or a club. Either way, East ...
.

Bottom Home Top