Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for John Torrey

John Torrey
John Torrey
  • 6
    Following
  • 15
    Followers
  • 162
    Posts
  • 14
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 28, 2011
Last Seen
11 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Director
about me
Semi-retired as ACBL director after 16 years. Still thinking and writing about the game; no "full time" partnerships
Country
Un

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
Three and a half articles by me were published in the Bridge World (1990s). My Bridge Cartoon is st
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Triangle BC, Durham NC
Favorite Conventions
Astro
BBO Username
jtxyzzy
ACBL Ranking
Gold Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Is this AI or UI?
Suppose that the original West became ill after East had won the ace of hearts and dropped the deuce. You (a bystander with no knowledge of the play so far) fill in for the original West. You are told that the two of hearts is a minor penalty card. You ...
Tales from the Attic: Contest Bridge.
My recollection is different. I found that almost - perhaps all - the questions came from the bridge literature, with many from the Bridge World's Master Solver's Club. I got an issue and entered, after doing extensive research. One was a lead problem: you hold A Q 10 6 2 ...
An Embarrassing Unintended Pass
The ACBL has director-guidelines that (as I recall) would disallow your pass as a "mechanical error." (Different part of the bid-box, etc.) But Law 25A makes no mention of mechanical error: the test is whether the call was unintended when made. I believe your pass was unintended and would rule ...
Get the Promotion
Right. Diamond to dummy, then spade to king if East plays low.
Get the Promotion
At double dummy, South can make by leading a spade to the king at trick two, then a club to the king. East wins and drives out the remaining heart winner. Now South can make by playing a spade (West has no more hearts) or a club. Either way, East ...
How Discouraging?
My error. The box now shows the correct auction.
Hard dillema
The text says the 7 was second best. Partner has K73 or Q73.
Ethics applied to a playing director
I face similar situations from time to time. Robb makes an excellent suggestion, but one that might not be available always. The director in this position should tell his opponents at the start of the hand (or as soon as he becomes aware of it). In this case, you can ...
Transfers After 1m-(1!S)
My unpublished approach takes your last option: transfers start with 2. 2 can be bid with hands interested in notrump, where we may want to put the overcaller on lead, and 2 is the bid with clubs. You can't get to 2 this way, but ...
Director Ruling
Correct! To have an adjustment there must be an infraction. In this case the infraction might be Misinformation (MI). There is MI if the explanation is incorrect with respect to the pair's agreements. The explanation said Drury and the agreement IS Drury, so there was no MI. Case closed.
.

Bottom Home Top