Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Jonathan Mestel

Jonathan Mestel
Jonathan Mestel
  • 6
    Following
  • 14
    Followers
  • 9
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Oct. 8, 2015
Last Seen
Aug. 1
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

The picture lies - I have no hair or snakes any more.

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Your comment?
So you're down if he's Jx Qxx AKQxxx xx. Not very likely, I admit.
Your comment?
If J loses and a 3rd trump comes back, you have to guess whether West has x or Jx(x) don't you? This is why I prefer to play spades before A.
Shortest Board Ever
One evening at our club Mr X was partnering Mrs Y, and Mrs X partnering Mr Y. Both were moving pairs, and when they met, the X's sat opposite each other as did the Y's. They all looked at their hands, I think one bid was made and ...
Your comment?
I'd play AK earlier, I think. Even if LHO ruffs K I'm alive. On the given line, if I run J to Qxx I could be down. If I played that way, I would then rise with K and claim if West follows. West's failure to continue ...
JOLLY Upsets MONACO
Even as declarer? Kxx..........Axx AKQJ10x......xx x............AK10 xxx..........AKxxx 1-2; 2-3; 3NT P Cross-IMPs Spade lead. Obviously you and partner are going to have words later, and he'll be somewhat caustic if you don't even make the 4th overtrick. But don't ...
Assess the blame (14)
Obviously (in my view) South is more to blame than North in that he might have doubled, but 3 is well within a "normal call" range. South expects to be able to double 3 and be ideally placed. Sometimes, as here, double works better. Swap the minors, and ...
What am I Asking
What contract do you want to be in opposite xxxx xxx xx xxxx, especially with a likely -lead? Or say change a x to 10. You get J lead against 4. My point is partner has done something a bit strange - he's allowed to; but that doesn't ...
What am I Asking
I don't see what all the fuss is about. Partner bid 3NT when we might be xxxx xxx xx xxxx. He bid 5S when we confessed to xxxxx xxxxx x xx. He now expects us to use our judgement - is our hand good in context? A major Q or ...
I AM SO Embarrassed!
Defending a part score on the last board of a knockout-match, I noticed to my amusement I held the lowest two remaining cards in all 3 side suits. "There's mathematically no way my plays make any difference now," I thought. So I switched off and played my last 6 ...
Angels and demonstrations
When you decided not to play a penalty double of a strong NT, you should have wondered what to do with a good hand. If they're vulnerable, taking them off in 100s may well be best. If they're nonvul, it may not be clear what to do, but ...
.

Bottom Home Top