Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Jonathan Weinstein

Jonathan Weinstein
Jonathan Weinstein
  • 5
    Following
  • 29
    Followers
  • 26
    Posts
  • 12
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 4, 2010
Last Seen
Feb. 13
Member Type
Bridge Player

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
semis of USBC 2010; 2nd in imp pairs 2007, NAP-A 2009
BBO Username
jlw77
ACBL Ranking
Gold Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Missing Aces and Micro-Moysians
That was assuming hearts 8-1. I would also worry about hearts being 7-2. Then you would need East to have spade KQ and read the position.
Missing Aces and Micro-Moysians
On the first hand, I don’t think you need East to have KQ of spades. Run all the trumps keeping 1 spade and 3 clubs in dummy. If he keeps 3 clubs, cash A and duck a club. Otherwise duck a club. The J is a red herring.
Road to the GNT Final Four, R8 Q4
The club combination on the second board is pretty cool… I don’t have time to write it up today but maybe someone will.
Report on Vote on Tie-breaking & follow up vote
Eric, this is the same as a .5-imp carryover from the round robin. Does it make it more palatable to put it that way? The Bermuda Bowl has had much more substantial carryovers in many iterations of their CoC, so I would think a .5-imp carryover is reasonable.
Road to the GNT Final Four R8 Q2
On #28, 7NT is a small bit better than 7 because you can always test the diamonds while you still have a club entry (though it has a losing case also, when South has a small stiff diamond and at most 2 trumps.) If partner had xx or x ...
Overtricks at Imps
Kit Woolsey’s comment on this thread is by far the most instructive. Distinguishing a 5-10% risk from a 20% risk is hard work, you’ll do it wrong sometimes, and when you do it right you’ve spent a lot of mental energy for a very small expected gain ...
Jonathan Weinstein's lead problem: T4 QT J643 J9632
Yeah I thought so too. Cost a regional event unfortunately, in the last round of a Swiss. Just needed some reassurance. FWIW lefty did not have the slam try the auction seemed to indicate… she had barely enough to bid game, and it so happened righty had AKJxxx and ...
Thank you Richard Pavlicek!
The principle is that at the "phantom table" where the board wasn't played, the result would have been equally likely to be any of the actual results *including yours*. So 1/17 of the time you would push against a phantom clone of yourselves, hence you were (1/17 ...
If you play professionally
I think the 1994 champs fit this description? Great story. That was right after I joined ACBL, I think I read about it in the first bulletin I ever got.
Trick 12 Decision
Kit, That’s a valuable general rule about it being okay to win the A slowly, but this hand is a rare exception! It would obviously be mandatory to win from ATx, so if East won the ace slowly from Axx, declarer would get it right. A near-equivalent situation arose ...
.

Bottom Home Top