Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Joseph Viola

Joseph Viola
Joseph Viola
  • 11
    Following
  • 5
    Followers
  • 12
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
May 20, 2011
Last Seen
May 27
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

BBO Username
javiola3
ACBL Ranking
Gold Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Alert Procedure After Misbid
After the auction, if our side declares, should I tell the opponents about the misbid?
Am I insane,or is my partner?
Is 2 natural alertable?
1m - (P) - 2M -- Best use
One partner suggested: 1m-2 = constructive raise 1m-2 = reverse Flannery, 5 & 4|5 4-8 hcp This sounds good to me, but it hasn't come up enough for me to have a strong opinion.
Joseph Viola's bidding problem: AKJxxx Ax Txxx x
I posted this because I may have created a BIT problem for partner. I was the 4NT bidder, and I broke tempo before bidding 5. My hand was 9xx-Kx-AKxx-AKTx. I carelessly thought that partner may have zero KCs. But then he opened with no As or Ks. Could I ...
Joseph Viola's bidding problem: --- AKQ5 J92 KQ9653
I was the 3NT bidder and held Kxx Jxx AKxx ATx. Partner passed and after a lead away from the A, I made 7 for above average. I agree with partner's pass.
Michael Kopera's bidding problem: KQJT982 J 42 AT6
What would you bid with x-Kxx-Kxxx-Kxxxx. I would be tempted to splinter on my way to 5. Of course, partner's void may lead him to the right conclusion.
No Carding Agreement, Club Setting
On the ACBL website there is a document entitled "All Events General Conditions of Contest". On p. 3, item 4 under Play states, "A pair must have a carding agreement listed on their convention cards." The 2013 version of this document was more expansive, but essentially said the same thing.
Joseph Viola's bidding problem: AKJ9 987 KQJ4 T4
Thanks. Do you intend to pass 2 or bid 2? With my partners if I correct to 2, I show a hand too big to overcall.
Is it alertable?
Another reason for alerting is that (at least in my Precision partnerships) this may be bid with only 2 clubs.
Hesitation when responding to Blackwood.
I don't understand the votes for the middle option. If the ruling was OK, why the lecture? With a slightly different hand -- AKx-xxx-AJxx-AKQ -- 7H is not a logical alternative.
.

Bottom Home Top