Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Karen (Kate) McCallum

Karen (Kate) McCallum
Karen (Kate) McCallum
  • 171
    Following
  • 90
    Followers
  • 5
    Posts
  • 1
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Dec. 6, 2010
Last Seen
June 1
Member Type
Bridge Pro
Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

BBO Username
vagabond3
ACBL Ranking
Grand Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Ruling question regarding an unalerted jump cuebid
I find the voting on this non-problem hard to believe. I can’t imagine a more clear situation. There is no question that north-South would have bid 7C had they received the information they were entitled to. EW had a highly unusual agreement which they did not disclose. Their opponents ...
Bridge Down Under - Aussies Come Through Again!
I couldn’t agree more. A heartfelt thank you to the organizers for this wonderful Congress. I used to play it every year and plan to resume. There is no better tournament anywhere in the world. The players are over-the-top friendly and non-confrontational, there are very few director calls, the ...
John McAllister's bidding problem: QT A642 K75 Q853
Depends entirely upon your opening bid style. 2NT best if style is somewhat sound, but way too much in my partnerships where we open all 11's and many 10's (1NT is 9-11 and 2NT 12-13).
Oren Kriegel's bidding problem: K9 AQ74 QJT765 5
I agree with Phillip completely. They are in the same class - and double should be penalty on both. In 40+ years of playing this style I have never encountered a problem such as you suggest, David - where I need a flexible call and don't have one. There's always ...
Oren Kriegel's bidding problem: K9 AQ74 QJT765 5
You have a good point MIchael. But there is one instance where 2S makes sense - when partner is very weak with the other two suits. It seems counterproductive to discuss bidding based on a misunderstanding. Better to assume we know what's going on. FWIW, my own partnerships are on ...
Ulf Nilsson's bidding problem: 74 A62 A842 A654
Why not double on the first round and avoid getting into this situation?
Fact Instead Of Fiction: A True Report on the Denver Regional
I played against Mark a number of times over a period of 40+ years and always thought him to be one of the most ethical players in the game. I remember an incident from a number of years ago; details are fuzzy now - it's been a long time, but ...
Double Dummy problem from BBO practice
Nice problem, MIchael.
Gene Saxe's bidding problem: 9 Q983 AKQJ2 KJ4
I don't object to 1NT with a singleton when you have an awkward rebid problem. But this hand is way too good. The potential in diamonds cannot be conveyed with ac1NT opening.
Mark Lair - A Class Act
Jack: I couldn't agree more. My own experience with Mark Lair mirrors yours. Always courteous, with ethics above reproach. I recall overhearing him summoning a director to his table to tell him that he had seen an opponent's card and couldn't play the board. I don't ...
.

Bottom Home Top