Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Ken Gamble

Ken Gamble
Ken Gamble
  • 11
    Following
  • 2
    Followers
  • 20
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 20, 2015
Last Seen
14 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
At a table in the Hawaii Regional (1985), Max Hardy mentioned my takeout double had a slight odor to it.
Bridge Accomplishments
Many Regionals, no Nationals
Regular Bridge Partners
Carol Maggipinto, Bob Price, Don Seldeen
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Santa Cruz Bridge Unit
Favorite Tournaments
Monterey Regional
BBO Username
KenGamble
ACBL Ranking
Ruby Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Archiving Convention Cards
Thanks Doug. Another website I wasn't aware of. I wish the lookup wasn't so slow.
Archiving Convention Cards
Thanks Dave and Al. This is exactly what I need (especially the system summaries). I wasn't aware of the USBF site. Now I am.
(1m) - 1NT - ( 2m) - ?
I think several commentators are agreeing that 2-levels responses in both auctions are natural and sign-off. Of course this is standard Lebensohl. 2NT would be used to sign-off in a lower denominational suit. It would be very rare that responder will have enough points to invite game as most of ...
(1m) - 1NT - ( 2m) - ?
What worries me about (1) and "system on" is that I will lose 2D as natural and to play. I'm likely to have around 5-6 hcps in my position so a 3-level bid for diamonds is a stretch. I know I lose right-siding the contract but is that more ...
help with odds
This site will calculate the odds and is easier to get the answers than from an odds book. http://www.automaton.gr/tt/en/OddsTbl.htm
Restrictions on a Weak Two Bid?
Several weeks ago a friend passed to me responses to a modified Ogust system he gathered from someone else. These responses seem playable. 3 = (bad, bad) 3 = bad suit, 7+ points 3M = good trump suit 3oM = 6-4 in the majors. 3NT = (good, good) So far, I've had ...
New Suit after Opener Raises Responder's Major Suit
Deleted
Dummy is Mum?
I was the dummy for this case and called the director when offender's partner was about to lead. Director reprimanded me stating that I could call him. Hence I started this post. Thanks for clarification and the reference to the Bulletin's ruling.
What should the ruling be?
Just for curiosity, in Benoit's example, lets assume partnership plays 2D as transfers but opener alerts it as GF Stayman. Let's say 4H is a splinter bid after a transfer and then 3H shows 5-5 GF in the majors. Is there anyway the partnership can recover from this ...
Negative Doubles Over NT - Questions
#4 So what do you do with a singleton? Bid or pass? You don't have GF values to bid a lower denomination 5-card suit. They are likely to have a 8 or 9 card fit now.
.

Bottom Home Top