Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Kerry Kappell

Kerry Kappell
Kerry Kappell
  • 2
    Following
  • 5
    Followers
  • 12
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
June 24, 2015
Last Seen
6 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Pro
about me

Teacher/Director/Professional Bridge Player.

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
Sapphire Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Is this a correct ruling?
The director has some discretion here. If declarer can convince the director that he intended to play a club (i.e. then the queen of clubs from dummy) then that card is an invalid designation and then declarer can play whatever card he wants from the dummy - so long as ...
Is this a correct ruling?
Well, I went back and did some research. By pointing at the Queen of Clubs, declarer has designated that card as his called card. As the Q is an invalid designation, declarer may call any spade of his choosing. From duplicate decisions: “Special Bridge Jargon: Much bridge jargon and many ...
Help please (2): How good are Strong 10s?
Alan, Murphy’s bridge laws say that you and your partner will always misguess the suit while the opponents will always guess the suit right. If that applies to you then “Power Tens” (as I know them) could be very worthwhile. Power Tens are part of Journalist Leads against notrump ...
Is this a correct ruling?
I think the ruling was correct. Carelessness is not a valid reason to claim “unintended.” That is clear in the rules or application of the rules. For example, if dummy has AQ and you lead up to it intending to finesse the queen when LHO plays the King and you ...
Help please (1): Revolving Discards
@Peter: I can only speak for @ACBLand and their General, Mid and Super Charts under Carding: “Dual-message carding strategies are not approved except on each defender’s first discard. Except for the first discard only right-side-up or upside-down card ordering strategies are approved. Encrypted signals are not approved. In addition ...
Gazilli feedback from those who have played it
Here’s my version of 6M Gazzilli over 1; 1 1nt (forcing) ? 2 = 12-19 bal or 6+ spades or 16+ hcp not covered below 2 = 4+ diamonds, 11-15 2 = 4+ hearts, 11-15 2 = 5 spades & 4+ clubs, < 2 hearts, 11-15 2nt = 5-4 or 6-4 GF, 3 asks for 4-card suit with 3 = clubs; 3nt=6-4, 4 re-asks 3 = 5-5 ...
Help please (1): Revolving Discards
I like it! Makes perfect sense. But illegal except on the first discard and it would be a mouthful to describe!
Help please (1): Revolving Discards
Four. Sometimes five or six depending on the spot cards in the dummy. ;) If you don’t have an odd card, you look to another suit. But you can always play your lowest (or highest) card and hope partner works it out. With all that said, your point is well ...
Help please (1): Revolving Discards
Middle ground? Revolving or rolling discards (odd-even style) Declarer is playing spades and the first discard is as follows: - low card = encouraging (UDCA) - high card = discouraging (UDCA) and may give suit preference to the next higher suit where the high suit wraps around to the bottom suit. e.g. - High ...
Gazilli feedback from those who have played it
The goal of any auction is to describe your hand to your partner in terms of strength and shape. And as fast as possible. In Standard American or 2/1, many bids have a wide range of strength and length: 1 - 1NT 2/2 = 3+ cards, 11-18 ...
.

Bottom Home Top