Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Kit Woolsey

Kit Woolsey
Kit Woolsey
  • 25
    Following
  • 1175
    Followers
  • 384
    Posts
  • 63
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
July 29, 2010
Last Seen
6 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Kit Woolsey is a world-class bridge and backgammon player, analyst, and writer. His most recent major victory was winning the Cavendish Invitational Pairs in 2011. He was elected to the ACBL Hall of Fame in 2005 and lives in Kensington, CA.

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Kit - Sally
Precision
Copy to my cards View/Print
Ruling After Failure to Alert
Suppose East's hand were something like: xxx Ax AKxxx xxx. The same scenario, and again East tells the director he would have doubled 4 and then 5 if he had known the proper meaning of the 2 call. And, as it happens, both 4 and ...
Announcement Required?
Of course it should be alerted. Even if one considers it a "common" treatment, the opponents would not necessarily expect that the bid could be made on a minimal takeout double with 4 spades and 5 diamonds. As usual, if you feel you have to ask whether or not something ...
Weak Jump Shift or Splinter?
Your methods put too much of a strain on double followed by 3, which might be 65432 or AKJ1098 of spades. As usual, invitational sequences go to the back of the bus, particularly in competitive auctions.
Quite unlikely to go down but...
You are right. I made it too easy for them. Better is to lead the 10 of diamonds off dummy without cashing the ace. Now East has little information to go on, and it will be extremely difficult for him to duck his king.
Quite unlikely to go down but...
I don't think you have the transportation you need. Say East wins and continues spades. You ruff, diamond to ace, trump to hand, diamond ruff, and king of hearts. If the hearts are 3-1, you are in serious danger of a club ruff. If you are going to adopt ...
Ruling After Failure to Alert
Let's suppose that upon being called away from the table and being asked what he would have done with the correct information, Brian said that he wouldn't have doubled 4. Then the director would never adjust the score, since Brian had himself said that the MI didn ...
Weak Jump Shift or Splinter?
Undiscussed, it is a bid I would not make and I would hope my partner felt the same way. As far as my personal preference, since I like 2 to be non-forcing 3S is a natural game force showing a good 6+ card suit.
Ruling After Failure to Alert
Tom, What you say is quite correct. If the correct explanation makes doubling 4 more attractive, then the score should be adjusted. But is that the case? I could easily see a player analyzing as follows: 1) In the variation where 2 is natural, I would definitely double ...
Ruling After Failure to Alert
I think Frances has it right. The issue isn't how good or bad East's failure to double was. The issue is: If East has received the correct explanation, would doubling 4 be more attractive. If all of the pollees said: I think it is a clear double ...
Ruling After Failure to Alert
I don't understand. If mixed raise was their agreement, then it looks like it was it was North who forgotten. At rate, it looks like South (who had the UI) acted properly. Whatever 3 means (presumably a try for 3NT), South's 4 call looks clear. And ...
.

Bottom Home Top