Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Liam Milne

Liam Milne
Liam Milne
  • 34
    Following
  • 110
    Followers
  • 38
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
April 2, 2013
Last Seen
16 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Pro
about me

Bridge professional and Australian open-level international.

Nothing is better than winning in the big game with friends.

Country
Australia

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
winning NZ Pairs by one matchpoint (2012)
Bridge Accomplishments
Australian Open Trials 2015, (9th) World Pairs 2014, Australian National Open Teams 2014, Gold Coast Open Teams 2012
Regular Bridge Partners
Nye Griffiths
Favorite Conventions
mini 1NT, woodie
BBO Username
lmilne
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Picking a Winner
Not wrong at all. You are right that East could have played K at trick one which would certainly have woken West up.
Picking a Winner
Having thought a bit more about this, I'm inclined to agree and have updated the article accordingly. The win cases for ducking are pretty easy to spot, and I'm not sure there are many loss cases at all if the defence plays well. Good eye.
Picking a Winner
Well, I do think West should have switched. East's underlead of the diamond is the clue. This layout is very findable given that Q with declarer makes 4 likely cold. I think this hand is very interesting from a defensive point of view as well. It's often ...
Picking a Winner
Thanks Peter. I think I agree with you.
Best books for defensive carding agreements?
It is truly one of the best books on defence - and bridge in general. I really love this book! Good luck Johnno
Liam Milne's bidding problem: QJ862 83 K AKT85
Hi Tom. Actually, no - this came up at the table with no tempo issues. I thought 4 was clear, but it didn't work this time. Some of my peers thought pass was clear. Hence the post.
Fantasyland
And thank you, David, for your kind words.
Fantasyland
You're right. So declarer must judge whether the chances of a mis-defence are worth a moderately decreased chance of success in the club suit.
Fantasyland
Hi Kevin, you're right - I didn't analyse that variation. Declarer is definitely down if East ruffs immediately and continues with hearts, ruffed. But As Steve pointed out, pitching (a diamond) saves the day. Nice find. I've often found in these hands where something cool happens, that on ...
Fantasyland
Thanks, Steve. When clubs are Q-x-x either side (30% each side, a priori, assuming clubs are 3-2), you are correct that the only way to make the hand double-dummy will be by taking a finesse. Declarer wasn't happy to do this, seeing as guessing which way to hook ...
.

Bottom Home Top