Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Louis Dekker

Louis Dekker
Louis Dekker
  • 31
    Following
  • 8
    Followers
  • 32
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Sept. 25, 2015
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Enjoy playing bridge and watching most other sports.

More interested in bidding than in playing, but that's probably because declaring is the worst part of my game Embarassed.

Country
Ireland

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
2nd in Dutch Mixed Teams Championships 2015
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Ruit and 2Klaveren in Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Favorite Conventions
Drury
BBO Username
lowieke
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Finish this sentence
Obviously a 6-crd suit qualifies for overcalling sooner than a 5-crd suit and how much you would like on the side might also differ for partnerships but in most partnerships suit quality would surely play a (big) part in deciding whether or not to overcall and partner is way more ...
Finish this sentence
I can see in my own hand why p might not overcall in :) Her 's must be a good deal stronger than her 's can be in order for this going down on lead. In Kxxxx could be plenty!
Finish this sentence
Did you take into account that there was no overcall in ? That might exclude some of the hands on which 3NT went down on a lead?
The Two Questions
If the jump rebid is forcing that is probably because an immediate 2 over the opening bid would have been weak. If you play that you get: 1-2 = weak 1-1-something-2 is invitational 1-1-something-3 is GF I have no experience with playing ...
Finish this sentence
Possibly best :) Of course also possibly worst, but it gives you a chance to look at dummy and partner's signal. It's well known by now that the lead of an Ace scores relatively high in double dummy simulations, because then you can [b]always[/b] find the best ...
Kyle Rockoff's bidding problem: JT987 7 QJ54 A82
I wouldn't be surprised if 5 (or even 6) makes. Partner will be short in (assuming max. 2), so my hand looks really good for 's. Side-effect could also be pushing them to the 5 level.
Rule this Claim!
Have you seen some of the serious mistakes made at Bermuda Bowl Finals .........?
Rule this Claim!
Only to a certain extent. Even if he plays low to trick 1 in dummy, he still needs to be careful with the order in which he takes his tricks. If you first play low and [b]then[/b] claim 13 tricks without explanation, it is still possible that you ...
Rule this Claim!
After the lead 5-0 with East having all five is exactly 0% :)
Rule this Claim!
I'd say the opposite happens also. Some players might feel obliged to make a claim (after all, isn't there something in the rules / laws about playing on when you could actually claim?). Had they just played it out they would have been fine, but having to state their ...
.

Bottom Home Top