Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Mark Raphaelson

Mark Raphaelson
Mark Raphaelson
  • 4
    Following
  • 17
    Followers
  • 93
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Sept. 3, 2010
Last Seen
2 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Orlando resident in the hospitality industry, fan of horse (harness) racing, playing volleyball, softball, basketball, and of course bridge.   Enjoy discussions about bridge rules and rulings.  And I'm a sarcastic pain in the ass.

 

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Winning my wife's first gold points in an open event at her first regional. I had been teaching her and told her she couldn't play knockouts and that she had to "earn" her gold in open events. I also fondly remember playing with her when she became a life master.
Bridge Accomplishments
I haven't throttled any of my partners.
Regular Bridge Partners
Lance Marrou, Elliot Raphaelson, Paul Dennis, John Moschella, and Karen Raphaelson (when she was still able to play)
Member of Bridge Club(s)
I wouldn't want to be in any club that would have me as a member.
Favorite Tournaments
Orlando Regional, since that's about the only one I go to, and I like regionals better than nationals, as you get to play the top players more often.
Favorite Conventions
Game Forcing Stayman (transfer/schmansfer), splinters, penalty doubles of 1NT.
BBO Username
marklbetya
ACBL Ranking
Bronze Life Master
Mark and Tansu
2 over 1 with semi-forcing NT
Copy to my cards View/Print
Mark/Lance/Cab
Sub-standard American
Copy to my cards View/Print
Mark and Karen Raphaelson
Standard American
Copy to my cards View/Print
ACBL and psyching 1N. Again?
Again, I agree with you in theory, but I think you live in Fantasyland. "Once it becomes a true tendency and partner becomes aware of it, it moves from the true "psych" category (in which neither your partner nor your opponents has any idea that you may be doing this ...
Implicit private understanding?
Ray, it is because we disagree as to what is an "agreement". I've read the responses, and your post twice now. I believe that full disclosure goes above the alert procedure. MOST players do play that 1NT implies a stopper. If you and your partner don't have that ...
ACBL and psyching 1N. Again?
"Again, however, the illegality here is to have an agreement to open 1NT on such hands. It is not illegal to open 1NT on such a hand if the partnership has no agreement which would allow a 1NT opening on such a hand." This is great in a vacuum, but ...
Open Letter to ACBL Board of Directors -- Housing Bureau, NABC Rooms, Montreal Summer NABC
"So what would you have the ACBL do? Not go to Montreal?" Ding Ding Ding. We have a winner! Now I'm not picking on Montreal, per se. But no location DESERVES a NABC. The locations should be chosen with the membership in mind. There should always be a lot ...
Mentality of Cheating
"In bridge and golf, there is an understanding written into the rules about fair play. In golf, you are expected and required to call a penalty upon yourself." Yes and no. I thought in bridge you aren't required to call the attention to an infraction made by your team ...
Implicit private understanding?
Why are people so vigilant in opposition to full disclosure? Why is having an unusual partnership agreement being compared to playing and fully disclosing a less mainstream bidding system?
Comedy of errors: how do you straighten it out?
Of course. If his intent wasn't to be in hearts after using puppet, why did he show the 4 card heart suit? There is only one reason he changed courses here, and it deserves a procedural penalty, given his point total.
Mentality of Cheating
It's interesting in baseball that taking (dare I say psyching) a catch and tag to fool a runner is considered smart, but calling MINE as you pass a fielder is unsportsmanlike. I don't disagree, but there are a lot of unwritten "rules" in baseball.
Implicit private understanding?
"Yes, there is a rule against frequent psychs but I've never heard of it being enforced." Of course you haven't. Because it isn't enforced. And at present, it really can't be. Until you record all psych's, we will never know how frequent they really are ...
Implicit private understanding?
Is there a difference between the 1NT overcall, and the 1x-(1y)-1N response if it may not have a "y" stopper? Is it legal to just play any 1NT range, regardless of stopper, and not let your opponents know that it is point showing only?
.

Bottom Home Top