Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Marty Harris

Marty Harris
Marty Harris
  • 0
    Following
  • 8
    Followers
  • 2
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Nov. 3, 2010
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
bridge player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Five card diamond.
My system uses 5 card diamond openings (it doesn't have to be unbalanced, 5332 is included). That opening is incredibly effective. Basically, how effective it is depends on what else you do to take advantage of knowing Opener has 5+ D. We maximize the number of times Responder can ...
Do You Count Your Cards?
I answered "Always." Technically I should qualify that by saying if it's the last board of a segment and I'm the dealer, and we're in big time trouble, I occasionally don't count to save a few seconds (especially if the director is watching and I'm ...
Back again about Players who Qualify in two USBCs
Jan, IMO we need to clarify whether we're requiring a player who won the Open trials to compete in the Open WC (and prohibiting him/her from competing in other trials). That issue seems to affect the answers to the other two questions you posed.
Back again about Players who Qualify in two USBCs
I disagree with a number of people re: whether there should be a % of boards played requirement for the 4 players who remain on a team. If the sponsor pair only plays 50% of the boards on a 6-man team, and then one of the pro teams drops off, IMO ...
Back again about Players who Qualify in two USBCs
I agree with no exception. If a team doesn't have at least 4 of its original players, it's ineligible.
Back again about Players who Qualify in two USBCs
I would solve Al's hypo #1 with a rule that if you've won an Open trials, you're ineligible to play in any other trials that year. That's what the Board originally proposed and it makes a lot of sense to me. It also seems to avoid ...
Back again about Players who Qualify in two USBCs
Aren't we keeping that originally proposed rule that if you win the Open trials, you MUST compete in that WC? I'm strongly in favor of that rule. I would not allow players who won the Open trials to compete in any further trials, nor would I allow them ...
Back again about Players who Qualify in two USBCs
I agree with Peter B.'s suggestion for which team replaces the team that withdrew.
Away from Tannery Row
David, THIS version of your "plan in advance" advice I completely agree with. Players should try to anticipate the most common auction that's likely to occur (where they'd have anything to think about) and should decide what they intend to do in that situation. What I previously disagreed ...
Duck High
Anthony, as Kit pointed out, the 9 isn't complete junk. If East holds 2 honors doubleton (e.g., Q,T), preserving the 9 prevents West from overtaking East's 10 on the second round. That blocks the suit.
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top