Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Matt Muir

Matt Muir
Matt Muir
  • 0
    Following
  • 0
    Followers
  • 3
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 7, 2015
Last Seen
April 23
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Matt Muir, ACBL since 1991, with a 20+ - year dormancy period.

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Making an ill-advised 7 Spades contract. Wish I could find that old hand record.
ACBL Ranking
Non Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
dump bidding boxes - all in favour ?
"yeah maybe but this wud be the old guard voteing (sic)" So, basically, you begin a thread by asking a question, then spend voluminous time arguing with everyone who gives you the answer that you don't want to see. I want [i]you[/i] to be my teacher and ...
dump bidding boxes - all in favour ?
Good points, Lynn. And I might add that, believe it or not, adults often also knock over bidding boxes. And sometimes they spill coffee on the table.
Revoke followed by incorrect concession/claim--Result?
This raises an interesting (to me) point. Had the defenders not faced their hands—if they'd simply folded their hands and accepted the incorrect claim—at the end of the session, Declarer could see their deception from the hand records. Would s/he then have recourse? Or is that ...
Club Ruling
"E has 7 tricks…" Not really. If S's bid shows s, then S has 5. E's s don't run. E has 5 or 6 tricks, depending on whether or not a is led or not, and depending on whether or not Dummy has a to ...
Revoke followed by incorrect concession/claim--Result?
Ed: "Ken, it's most definitely an infraction." So, you're saying that, when his hand is all trumps, he needs to state which of those cards he plays, in which order? Even though the order of play is entirely immaterial? If that's an infraction, it's like driving ...
Club Ruling
N might bid 3 or 3, but who would bid 2 after W's 2 was announced as a Transfer?
Monolingual
If you speak two languages, you are "bilingual". If you speak three or more languages, you are a "polyglot". If you speak one language, you are an "American".
Salvaging Some Matchpoints
The Director seems to have screwed the pooch here. Had s/he looked at your hand, s/he would've seen that you'd never intended to make a 2 bid. When the Director chastised you, you could've said "What do you mean by '(I) know better than ...
Referring to newbies as "Novices"
Yeah, those are all pretty useless. I'm not a Life Master. I don't ever remember which of those categories I belong to. In IMHO, they're all NRMs (Not Real Master). When I see someone crowing about attaining "Regional Master", or whatever, I think "That's nice, butt ...
What can you do? The stuff just doesn't stop.
David, Are you implying that RHO did not violate procedure? Law 73.D.2: A player may not attempt to mislead an opponent by means of a remark or a gesture, by the haste or hesitancy of a call or play (as in hesitating before playing a singleton), the manner ...
No followers yet
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top