Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Neal Smith

Neal Smith
Neal Smith
  • 1
    Following
  • 6
    Followers
  • 79
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
June 4, 2013
Last Seen
3 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

After 40 years as ACBL member, finally had time to play regularly starting in Jan 2013, and made LM June 2014.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
Wins: Regional 0-20 pairs (1970s); D21 Flight C GNT, 1998; Phoenix (OR) Sectional Swiss, August 2013; Seaside (OR) Regional Gold Rush, Sep 2013; Sun River (OR) KO Bracket 2, May 2014; Medford Regional B Swiss, May 2017, Phoenix (OR) Sectional Swiss, September 2019.
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Phoenix, OR
Favorite Tournaments
Medford (OR) Regional, Seaside (OR) Regional, Sun River (OR) Regional
ACBL Ranking
Bronze Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
3-5 or 5-3 in Majors after Opening 1N
I have one partner who plays a jump response to 3 of a major over 1NT shows 3 in the bid major and 5 in the other major, GF.
The promised ending
But the end position is cool!
The promised ending
Yes, hold onto that K and the squeeze is not there!
Defensive problem with interesting ending
If standard carding, let's give partner K74. West does not have KQT AJ9532 Q AKx, because with that holding the K lets the contract thru (after a low D at trick 5, North will be squeezed in the black suits; South will be squeezed in the minors)--CoC stated ...
Was this the correct ruling?
I don't know what the correct ruling would be, but I would point out that the only non-alertable 3 (in ACBL land) would be a strong jump shift. Did South really think North could have a takeout X when East opened and West had a strong jump shift ...
Mass ACBL E-Mails
From the ACBL Privacy Policy: "ACBL-affiliated groups may also send you communications about upcoming bridge-related events and other updates. You may request that the ACBL keep your contact information confidential from our affiliated groups. Please see the section “Sharing of Information” below."
Enlist the Aid
"If East were not a passed hand, overcalling 2♥ would risk missing a game. With East being a passed hand, that isn't much of a risk." I think 2 is just plain wrong. Give East the spade Ace, 3 small hearts and a singleton and they belong ...
A Gold Rush win worth reporting
Love Olivia's hoodie!
Incomplete explanation of an alerted bid
I would have asked what 2 would have showed. Also an, artificial raise? I think in fact they may have been playing mini-splinter raises, showing shortness in the suit bid. If that is the case, the score should have been adjusted to making 3, plus a procedural penalty.
ATB
so a relay auction where the weak hand asks and the strong hand describes. Is that best practice?
.

Bottom Home Top