Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Nicholas France

Nicholas France
Nicholas France
  • 10
    Following
  • 9
    Followers
  • 45
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
April 18, 2012
Last Seen
3 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Teacher
about me

Retired Banker now back in school for a new degree

 

Partners have sometimes alerted my pass as "Does not have 13 cards"

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Playing in Orlando in the Board-a-Match with Burrell Humphreys on the 50th anniversary of him winning the event
Regular Bridge Partners
Burrell Humphreys
Favorite Conventions
new minor forcing
BBO Username
gandalf
ACBL Ranking
Sapphire Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Claim?
I am not sure why he thinks after a claim that he can now play the Q of trump and then take a finesse. His claim is valid he makes 4 not 5.
David Parsons's bidding problem: JT643 62 A62 984
If you are playing Cappeletti then the major really needs to be 5 cards. Even Mel seems to accept that with his last example for the rule of 8. Also your eixplanation of the rule is off as he uses losing trick count. If we accept that overcaller has 5 ...
Splitting in 2nd Seat: High or Low?
Glad to see playing the lower honor seems more popular. Compare this case to the one where partner leads a low card, low from dummy. Now everyone (or almost everyone) plays the lower honor. No wonder why some novice and intermediate players seem so confused when some good players have ...
Craig Biddle's bidding problem: JT AQ74 K953 K87
Partner has 10+ points evaluated and at least 5-4 in the majors. I see no reason why he should double if his distribution is 5431. the double doesn't tell me he has 9 cards in the majors and in my mind actually tends to deny that and just shows ...
Nigel Kearney's bidding problem: 3 AQJ KQT64 AQ73
If this was matchpoints then 3NT might seem very reasonable as slam isn't guaranteed but in imps it seems there is little to lose to look for a slam.
Chris Derrick's bidding problem: J9xx Qxx Qx A9xx
My double doesn´t show both majors and I can pass whatever partner bids.
How Bid This Deal?
Doesn´t 2 infer a spade stopper and a good hand (Assuming 2 was the majors). That is my bid and would expect partner to bid 2NT with the hand he has.
What's the best % play?
Stephane, if the suit is Tx and Kxx it isn't so simple. You are assuming that they will always cover with a split of Txx and Kx but what if they don't automatically cover. Now when you lead the Jack on the second round, the Ten is set ...
Tilman Seidel's bidding problem: KT64 QT83 984 JT
Seems like I make this mistake too often now-a-days. Guess I better change my answer
Stayman over 2NT?
I assume Chris you meant 2 more tricks than 2NT. 4 of a major only has to make one more trick than 3NT to be a winner there.
.

Bottom Home Top