Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Niels Foged

Niels Foged
Niels Foged
  • 2
    Following
  • 1
    Followers
  • 21
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 10, 2010
Last Seen
13 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
Denmark

Bridge Information

Regular Bridge Partners
Lars Mathiesen
Member of Bridge Club(s)
One Eyed Jacks, Copenhagen
BBO Username
nielsfoged
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Diamonds: Now, then or even later?
Thanks Bill for also commenting on trumps 3-1, where Declarer's chances a priori seems to be KQ doubleton (any hand), K or Q singleton (LHO) or KT or QT or T (RHO) - all which require some correct "guessing". Catching 3 s and ruffing the may guide us: If ...
Diamonds: Now, then or even later?
@Ben: there are 10 s and 7 s distributed between opponents hands (not 9 and 8, respectively as you mention). T (odd/discourage) indicates s are 5-5.
Diamonds: Now, then or even later?
I should have mentioned: Opponent's general agreement is "udca", so T tends to be odd/discourage.
Play 6H
To Deb: After 1-3NT, 6 I doubt West will dare to duck the first heart with Kx - may not look so smart, if declarer has a 6-card -suit :)
Tricky hand?
Craig: You play control responses after 2, and therefore get to know about partner's A and missing K, already in 1st round - very nice, so you know very early, that you are not stopping before at least the 6-level. On the other hand, unless you bid 2 ...
How high can you go?
You (and currently 55 unanimous Bridgewinners, who voted for T) are right! Though A is the best play from AJ9, it gains no imps in this field. The only positive(?) effect of playing A first time is to show Declarer, what he is up against!
How high can you go?
Not knowing the details of the newly developed artificial "SMART" system played by NS, I cannot reply to your comments, and even my suggestions of the meaning of the alerted bids are dubious. However, it seems clear that both North and South pushed (too) hard for slam. Probably South bid ...
How high can you go?
I believe a LHO holding AKJ9 in trump would try to force a trump on table by leading a 3rd round of , since his J would then secure 1 down in 5. Actually, this would not work since Opener surprisingly not only had doubleton , but also doubleton ...
How high can you go?
Exactly Kieran, this was the simple point of my poll. Actually, the national team level LHO did hold AJ9, but played low, so Declarer won the scary 5 easily. I believe that holding the 9 (no chance of Declarer playing for finessing the J wrongly), and knowing that Declarer ...
David Birds Inappropriate Comment
I don't like this post and its title: neither the OP's public "shoot first, ask questions later"-criticism of the commentator, nor his apparent unfortunate comment, which may have reflected a moment of poor bridge judgement (we have all made that), and/or a spontaneous joke, which came ...
.

Bottom Home Top