Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Nigel Guthrie

Nigel Guthrie
Nigel Guthrie
  • 12
    Following
  • 8
    Followers
  • 6
    Posts
  • 4
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Nov. 8, 2011
Last Seen
12 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Bridge Information

Member of Bridge Club(s)
GBC
BBO Username
nige1
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
A New Ethics?
I like Michael Rosenberg's example, where dummy has K T x x, declarer leads x from hand, his LHO follows low, and declarer says "Small ... No Wait!". Is it "sporting" for RHO to allow declarer to "correct" his play from dummy, when he holds singleton A? Another example ...
How would you rule?
The director might rule 3N= by West, on a lead. Whatever the director's adjustment judgement, however, he should impose an enormous PP on South.
A New Ethics?
After declarer has drawn attention to his infraction, you should call the director. If the director rules in your favour, then you can ask him to waive any redress, although he might not accede to your request. If, rather than call the director, you instead rule yourself by allowing or ...
Caught in a Backwash
2 6 5 4 3 2 3 2 6 5 4 3 2 A K A K Q A K Q J A K T 9 Yet another variation with 6N making against any defence and distribution.
Caught in a Backwash
5 4 3 2 3 2 3 2 6 5 4 3 2 A A K Q J A K Q J A K T 9 Another similar shape-shifter deal: 6N on a red-suit lead (sure-trick).
Caught in a Backwash
I call this kind of squeeze-strip a "shape-shifter". As usual, Steve Bloom seems correct. If RHO was dealt 4 s, then you can usually still succeed, provided that you read the distribution. Win A, AKQJ, QK, A. RHO keeps 4 s ... - If you guess that RHO has fewer than 2 ...
Name This Squeeze (Again!)
Aliter: triple-squeeze followed by one-suit squeeze-strip.
Name This Squeeze (Again!)
Triple squeeze zugzwang entry strip? Anyway, thank you Alan: it's beautiful!
Name this Squeeze
Frontwash
Is this offensive?
IMO, unless local regulations mandate that you pass the Bridgemate round the table, in silence, it's OK to say "3-1 to them". After opponents' hissy-fit, however, you should call the director immediately,
.

Bottom Home Top