Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Paul Lamford

Paul Lamford
Paul Lamford
  • 2
    Following
  • 1
    Followers
  • 7
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
April 6, 2016
Last Seen
9 minutes ago
Member Type
bridge player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
12 IMPs penalty against the opps - what would you do ?
I presume you mean "accept" rather than "except", Paul. And I wonder whether rules generally cover a team failing to turn up at all for the last stanza when their lead is greater than the 3 IMPs per board awarded when that the match is curtailed for their non-arrival. I ...
A "strong" 2C ruling in SB's favour
Ian is right that I should apologise for suggesting that Graham Orsmond might have called the director, or that he might have been North in the story, which I do unconditionally. I should not have linked the event, and my attempt to use fictional characters and a fictional auction rebounded ...
Ace Remembered
Stefanie and I played against Bobby on OKBridge in May 1999 a few days before he died. Stefanie was a great fan of his and a friend. They bid a grand against us using Exclusion Blackwood! He was very friendly and chatty and would play against all-comers on OKBridge, which ...
WOLFSON Wins Vanderbilt
Great result, especially fellow Brits Alex and Peter. That is the second major US event won by Peter Crouch after his success last year with Simon Cope.
Ban Collusive Cheaters For Life
I think non-collusive cheating is likely to be much more common than collusive. In the UK, the three cases of which I am aware involved "substitution of one's own cards for those provided by the organisers" in one case, which led to a ten year-ban, and two cases of ...
Honolulu BRP 7NT Lead Discussion
Andy's idea is good, but one could play that 4NT is Blackwood and shows a diamond void, and says "Don't correct 7S to 7NT as well". I suspect no partnership has discussed this, and the partnership here does not have that many Vugraph appearances together, with Levin-Weinstein and ...
Honolulu BRP 7NT Lead Discussion
Kit wrote: "Furthermore, if partner has an ace it is (or should be) 100% for him to double. That's what a double of 7NT means." Have you discussed in "Building a Better Mousetrap" which ace it shows?
Honolulu BRP 7NT Lead Discussion
You write: It "feels" to me like NS should receive an adjusted score (-990) because South's BIT followed by Pass is CLEARLY improper here, but maybe EW should be stuck with the table result. I don't think that in UI cases you can award a different result, certainly ...
Honolulu BRP 7NT Lead Discussion
In my opinion there was TD error in that the question asked of those polled was: “What lead does the hesitation (without the comment) suggest?” The comment is AI to the leader, so the hesitation without the comment is irrelevant. The correct question was “What different lead does the hesitation ...
Difference of Opinion
There was huge confusion over the Dustin Johnson "moving ball" incident in the 2016 US Open, and I don't think there any fewer spats in golf than other sport, and golf rules are very complicated. And even then the penalty can be insufficient as in the other "moving ball ...
.

Bottom Home Top