Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Peter Boyd

Peter Boyd
Peter Boyd
  • 9
    Following
  • 105
    Followers
  • 15
    Posts
  • 7
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 22, 2011
Last Seen
4 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Pro

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
Grand Life Master
Copy of Robinson-Boyd
Std, 2/1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Poll #3: Restrictions on Player Who has Qualified for Two Events
Regarding the poll on restrictions on a player who qualifies in two events.... It seems to me that there are two different issues encompassed by the three voting options: Issue number one is “to which team is the player’s primary obligation?” Options 1 and 2 both require favoring the ...
Lanzarotti Readmitted to ACBL
From the report: "Mr. Lanzarotti admitted cheating and explained what occurred. He made a complete disclosure and full apology." I wonder if the admission, explanation, disclosure, and full apology can be made public?
Poll #3: Restrictions on Player Who has Qualified for Two Events
Max: True, Option 1 doesn't prevent a player from entering and knowing they will withdraw if they win. But, I believe it makes it much less likely than in Option 3, where the new revision of the rules would be explicitly set up to arrange for exactly that to ...
Poll #3: Restrictions on Player Who has Qualified for Two Events
Max, thanks for your thoughts. What inclines me to vote for option 1 is the reluctance to see players or teams competing in a Trials where we KNOW they will withdraw if they win. I can understand giving the freedom to withdraw after winning, if one wishes, but at least ...
Poll #2: Replacement Team
I think there is an error in the presentation of part of the question. Contrary to an introductory comment, we are NOT being asked which team to promote in the case where USA1 withdraws and the USA1 finals loser loses in the USA2 finals. In that case, Answer 1 and ...
POLL on Effect of Resignations and Double Qualification
Michael, if I may summarize then, you prefer to rank the team who made the finals of USA1 above the team that beat them in the USA2 semi-final. I prefer to go by the results of that heads-up match, instead.
POLL on Effect of Resignations and Double Qualification
Michael, I repost here a detailed outline of which team I believe should replace a withdrawn winner in a 2-team year. If USA2 withdraws, then the USA2 losing finalist is promoted. If USA1 withdraws, then I think these four cases would cover all possibilities: 1) USA1 finals loser wins USA2 ...
Goodbye, Russ
Russ was always one of the "good guys." RIP. I first met Russ in the 60's, where he would play for free in Washington DC Sectionals by wearing his Coast Guard uniform. He did have a bit of a stubborn streak. Staying at a non-smoking hotel in a DC ...
Back again about Players who Qualify in two USBCs
Marty, my understanding of the new policy adopted by the board, is that players or teams who win the Open Trials MAY play in subsequent trials that year. The only related open question, as I understand it, is whether the winner of the Open Trials in the Rosenblum year (where ...
Back again about Players who Qualify in two USBCs
Al: In the scenario where the single winner in the Rosenblum year USBC (USA1) withdraws, I would prefer that an alternate be selected from that event, rather than converting the next year's USBC to a 2-team event. To me, that seems less disruptive to the whole setup. The Board ...
.

Bottom Home Top