Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Phil Benamy

Phil Benamy
Phil Benamy
  • 3
    Following
  • 0
    Followers
  • 6
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Jan. 25
Last Seen
12 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

South Florida club director -- over 5,000 tables a year for over 20 years

Have misplayed ACOL, Fantunes, KS, Precision, Roman Club along with Standard and 2/1

I consider it bad luck to let the opponents make the rules

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
Bronze Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
The deal played itself
Win an ace, play ace of hearts East playing the jack. 2nd heart to the 10 (idiot coup) losing to the queen. Heart back making only 4.
What do you think of the director's actions?
One is a sport. The other is life and death.
How should Multi be allowed (if at all) under the Open+ chart?
Different people want to play multi for different reasons. Some of these reasons include stealing candy from children the pros play it they play it in their home country to practice it as an experiment for fun they think it is good bridge there are likely other reasons as well ...
2!c With an Unbalanced Hand
I recall someone (1000+ masterpoints or so) opening a distributional 2. The opponents proceeded to bid and make slam. A 2 opener should show defense as well as offense. It should have at least 2 defensive tricks where AK 8 times counts as zero defense. The opponents should ...
What do you think of the director's actions?
You are clearly correct. I am mistaken. However: what if dummy is the first to draw attention to an irregularity? what if a kibitzer claims a revoke? I wonder if this section of the Laws could use some fine-tuning?
What do you think of the director's actions?
The director duties do not supersede that of a kibitzer. What if someone had revoked? Should the kibitzer point it out? There is often more to the story. Who/why was the director kibitzing? At the club level, I am in favor of protecting weaker players from those practicing gamesmanship.
What should TD Rule? Misinformation or Misbid or Extremely Serious Error
North is required to explain his agreements, NOT his beliefs. South is not allowed to APPEAR to base their call on Norths (mis)explanation. South is expected to have his HAND SPEAK FOR ITSELF. South should tell the TD, of course I bid 5, everyone would. South should also ...
What should TD Rule? Misinformation or Misbid or Extremely Serious Error
Those who do not have a filled out convention card may be unaware of when they may/may not correct a mechanical error. Protect yourself: do not ask for an explanation, ask to see the convention card.
What should TD Rule? Misinformation or Misbid or Extremely Serious Error
Somewhat dependent on jurisdiction. Procedural penalty for lack of convention card (possibly substantial as no disclosure prior to opening lead). South is authorized to know that north did not open 1/2/3. How would you rule if south had said it was a mechanical error (and ...
What do you assume? What should they be?
meta rule -- double of artificial call is penalty examples: double of Stayman or transfers exception: double of Michaels cue bid hand 1 -- did not double for takeout the first time -- showed spades hand 2 -- take out of what? 1 does not force 1NT hand 3 -- 2NT is takeout, ergo ...
No followers yet
.

Bottom Home Top