Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Phillip Martin

Phillip Martin
Phillip Martin
  • 31
    Following
  • 154
    Followers
  • 92
    Posts
  • 48
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
July 12, 2011
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Writer
about me

Phillip Martin lives in Scarsdale, New York. He is the Chief Technology Officer for Gargoyle Strategic Investments in Englewood, New Jersey. He is also a composer, currently serving as Composer-in-Residence for Hartford Opera Theater. While he retired from tournament play some twenty years ago to pursue other interests, he has remained active in bridge as a writer, contributing occasional articles to The Bridge World and Bridge Today and publishing a bridge blog, The Gargoyle Chronicles.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

BBO Username
phillipmartin
ACBL Ranking
Diamond Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Trick 12 Decision
If you do a game-theoretical analysis, the Nash equilibrium is indeed, as Kit points out, for East always to win with Axx and West always to duck with Ax and, therefore, for declarer to play the 9 at trick 12. To conclude that the King is, as a practical matter ...
Directors Ruling
I don't recall stating any such beliefs. My comments have consisted of if-thens.
Directors Ruling
Kit addressed this issue in this issue in his second comment above.
Directors Ruling
One critical piece of information missing in your original post is what the correct information is. Did they have an agreement to play Flannery and opener simply forgot? Or was there no such agreement? In the former case, he DID have the correct information. He is entitled to know his ...
Directors Ruling
What would be the basis for allowing him to change his call?
How to get to slam on these cards ?
"More honour tricks than losers" is actually an old rule? I've never heard anyone say that except Lowenthal. Must be an Acol thing.
How to defend?
OK. Now I can answer. First of all, I would have pitched a club on the fourth diamond, since I may need to hold all three spades in some scenarios (e.g. if declarer has misplayed it holding Kxx KQJ Kxx Axxx). Once he has pitched down to a singleton ...
How to defend?
You still haven't told us what partner discarded on the third round of hearts--or what you discarded on the fourth diamond.
How to defend?
The problem seems to be to decide whether declarer has misplayed the hand and failed to knock out the spade ace while he had communication (in which case I must stiff my club queen and hold ace third of spades to prevent him from reaching his hand) or whether he ...
How to defend?
We are missing at least one discard from each of the three players.
.

Bottom Home Top