Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Richard Reitman

Richard Reitman
Richard Reitman
  • 2
    Following
  • 9
    Followers
  • 0
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
April 2, 2014
Last Seen
48 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Twice a national champion, I plan to play more often, having recently retired from a 33-yr career as an MD specializing in Emergency Care and Orthopedics.

email:  probridge@me.com

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Winning the Senior Swiss with a first-time partner and first-time teammates.
Bridge Accomplishments
1st in the Senior Swiss in DC, 2nd in the Mixed Pairs in Louisville, 1st in the 0-5K Pairs
Favorite Conventions
(1) Drury, (2) splinters, (3) expanded use of transfers.
BBO Username
dbl me
ACBL Ranking
Diamond Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Are you "allowed to know"?
No, Michael, I ain’t the “hangin’ judge”...and I try hard to process, not just peruse, what others write.
Are you "allowed to know"?
Michael, there is such a planet; it goes by the name “earth”. Both proximate posts omit the scenario we’ve all witnessed before, wherein regardless of the force, partner “panics” due to a void in the shown suit and exceptional length in the bid suit. The live possibility of that ...
Are you "allowed to know"?
(Deleted.)
Are you "allowed to know"?
Even if partner is “barred” from passing, s/he may nonetheless “panic” with, eg., a 2=5=0=6 minimum. Analogously, over opps’ 1NT intervenor bids 2D agreed as a transfer to hearts, whereupon advancer, holding, e.g., 3=0=7=3, decides to pass.
Are you "allowed to know"?
Actually, not so. You must proceed as if partner had immediately alerted 2C exactly as per the partnership agreement, hence “logically” should have 11+ round-suit cards and a diamond void.
Are you "allowed to know"?
You are to imagine yourself denied any such information at all, i.e., as if screens are always in use.
Are you "allowed to know"?
Any discussion of failure to alert/announce can be simplified by the ironclad principle that, if the call in question is in fact alertable/announceable, the caller must proceed as though it had been duly alerted/announced. (Realization that a call believed alertable/announceable at the moment it was made ...
Are you "allowed to know"?
Any uncertainty in such matters can be resolved by remembering that screens, whether real or virtual, must always be “in use”.
FP situation? If not who should bid 5?
Michael, please feel free to explain how to word more clearly what you very well know I mean...
FP situation? If not who should bid 5?
(...as per Mike G’s post.)
.

Bottom Home Top