Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Robin Barker

Robin Barker
Robin Barker
  • 7
    Following
  • 1
    Followers
  • 1
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
May 9, 2012
Last Seen
7 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Started playing bridge at Cambridge University in the 1980s.  Started directing at national level (EBU) in the 1990s.  Some directing at zonal level (EBL) in 2000s.  Now (2010s) National TD for EBU and still playing: mainly in teams knockout competitions.

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Majors - Minors ?
I suspect that South is at fault and there was no misinformation: results stands. Penalty for the organisers for not providing writing pads and requiring their use. :)
When is a Pass a Pass?
I suspect the verbal Pass is a Pass If the Pass by responder is unintended it may be corrected, as partner has not called; the pass by next to call does not limit the application of Law 25A. I suspect that responder's Pass was intended at the time it ...
Ruling, please!
If West is on the declaring side he can consult his own system card (during the clarification period). This was introduced in the 2007 laws - presumably to allow declaring side to check before correcting an explanation.
Correcting a correct but mistaken explanation
There may be an agreement to play system on but if both members of the partnership get it wrong, then the partnership understanding is something else, and that partnership understanding is what should be explained.
An Offense After a Standard Flannery Defense
Where is the offense of the title?
Time for a rethink
Not real grass: according to England Hockey, "hockey is now predominantly played on synthetic (or artificial) sports turf surfaces."
Score keeping should be disallowed in the semi finals/finals of all major national matchpoint type events
Another mechanical solution might be to have the system card as one piece of card and the scoresheet to be a separate piece of paper.
How do you rule?
Before Part A of Law 68, there is [i]For a statement or action to constitute a claim or concession of tricks under these Laws, it must refer to tricks other than one currently in progress. If it does refer to subsequent tricks:[/i] It is possible that North meant ...
How would you rule?
When declarer claims, play ceases, dummy ceases to be dummy and can contest the claim, can attempt to withdraw the concession and can call the TD. It does not look normal for declarer to concede a heart immediately as he would be in danger of losing three hearts.
Interesting ruling at the Nationals
It appears that West objected immediately to his partner's concession. In which case, Law 68B2 requires that play continues. I guess that for some reason this did not happen.
.

Bottom Home Top