Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Scott Needham

Scott Needham
Scott Needham
  • 7
    Following
  • 13
    Followers
  • 54
    Posts
  • 48
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Oct. 8, 2010
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Grew up in Kansas, and left as soon as was polite for schooling in LA. Thought I wanted to be a scientist. Huh.

\n

Learned K-S in college and played a bit at the old Wild Whist in Westwood. Then I moved to Steamboat Springs, Colorado, in 1978 and took the next 30 years off (with only sporadic club experience in the Denver area). Started playing regularly again in Boulder, Colorado, and played my first sectional and regional tournaments. Learned to love Bracket 2/3 KOs. Favorite tournament: Palm Springs. Much prefer 10 & 3 schedules. Worst bridge characteristic: Black Hole Moments when I leave the planet and do really stupid stuff, usually when declaring. 

\n

Former scuba diver, beach bum, general laborer, rocknroll bum/writer, ski bum, carpenter, bartender and tax lien investment fund manager. Currently, reformed (retired) lawyer, orphan, very happy husband, parental unit and grandfather. (Some have asked: The picture is a much earlier incarnation. Though he lurks close beneath the surface....)

\n

More personal disclosure than I have ever done. Weird.

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
Ruby Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
A "TYP" Bid
Ever practical. EDIT: True that the splinter classically includes a control, but sometimes.... So it does seem that, in order to be offering partner the slam choice, and in order to allow for the vagaries of hand evaluation, 5 should in most p'ships show a control.
Is that alertable?
Unresponsive, your honor. At some point we get asymptotic: The argument that bypassing the major to rebid 1N requires an alert becomes the argument that the failure to rebid 1 is some sort of deviation from the rules of "bridge." That's weird; outlaws judgment in this case. OTOH ...
Is that alertable?
We would announce, at the close of this auction, that Declarer may hold 4 on this bidding.
ATB - Missed Slam
See John Swanson's "Fit Bids Give Me Fits." Or something close to that....
ATB - Missed Slam
I don't like this situation, but 1♠-(2♦)-2♥-(P) 3-(P)-4♠? Not bad; asks O to make a move.... 1♠-(2♦)-2♥-(P) 3-(P)-3-(P) 3N -(P)-4S? Does bypassing 3N to bid 4 suggest a GOOD hand opposite what could ...
Is that alertable?
Mr. Burn: After 1m-1, do you think an agreement to bypass 4 to rebid 1N with a balanced hand, or to bypass both majors after 1-1 if balanced, is alertable? or a post-auction announcement?
Is that alertable?
After beginning 1-1, we announce responder "usually holds 5+ , or 4 very good ones, on this auction" after the auction concludes. At some point, a couple of GLM opps mildly objected to the alert, so we asked some TDs. The TDs requested the post-auction announcement procedure, as ...
Apportion of blame
So, pretty much equivalent to K3 QJxx KJ23 AJ2 or variations?
Apportion of blame
No NT range given, but assuming The Usual: With all those features, the N hand is nearly a max BEFORE the fit is found. Isn't it?
Inverted Minors
1m-2m = 7+-bad12 dummy points, jump in om = forcing balanced raise. The more I play it, the more I like it. Distributional hands can bid 3m, defensive responding hands can whack when they balance, opener has no need to take a call with 11-13.
.

Bottom Home Top