Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Stan Abrahams

Stan Abrahams
Stan Abrahams
  • 3
    Following
  • 2
    Followers
  • 0
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Sept. 17, 2015
Last Seen
Oct. 19
Member Type
bridge player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Play 3NT
I see from the voting so far that over one third of the votes are for playing on Diamonds. Surely if you are going to play on diamonds you just cash the AK of clubs first, in case there is a doubleton queen. Its called combining chances, Kelsey.
Methods over Lead Directing X
Playing this way, I always transfer. Refusing the transfer shows specifically only 2 cards in that suit, and 5 cards in the other major. I don't really care who plays the hand. I only ask with 3C if I have no 5 card major myself.
Ridiculous results, doubled or redoubled
John, if you think that was bad, 5D doubled at our table making 6 was not a good score.Meanwhile our team mates also went for 1700 in 5Hx. Partner thought I could be weak for my 5D bid.
2nt taking up too much space? Not really, here's a solution.
The reason I brought up this hand is that I am teaching some intermediate lessons, and have my own rather weird ideas of opening 2NT 20-22 bids. I teach a 2 way multi 2D, with the 2NT rebid having no 5 card suit unless its clubs. My 2NT opener shows ...
2nt taking up too much space? Not really, here's a solution.
I watched this hand on BBO the other night when 4 national teams bid the hand to 3NT twice and 5D twice. How would this system bid the hands? Axx, AQx, KTxxx, AK, opposite x, Kxx, AQxx, xxxxx.
When is shuffle/deal/play appropriate?
Just to add another dimension to the discussion.The Bulletin editor(s) have a hard enough job without having to ask at the bar about hands they have never seen or heard of. And when the Bulletin comes out, naturally the readers, and players, want to see the hands they ...
Best Line to limit Trump suit losers to one
Running the Queen 75.999 but how often is the Queen not covered?
Leading 2./4.
The bidding went 1NT pass from me, 3NT pass pass, and I doubled. I led the JD, and declarer asked what our leads were. My partner, the late Tony Taylor, said 4th highest. Correct.
Is using the rules (even obscure) always ethical?
Marshall, brilliant, you touched all the bases, and I found out the meaning of 2 new words, no wonder I keep coming back here for more.
Against a weak NT, our double is...
Showing a stronger hand than the opener, by doubling, say 15 Plus, is not penalty, it is telling partner what you hold, and partner is quite allowed to pull with a weak, distributional hand. Therefore it is optional, and when asked I always say 15 plus, I never say penalty.
.

Bottom Home Top