Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Steve Bloom

Steve Bloom
Steve Bloom
  • 18
    Following
  • 191
    Followers
  • 105
    Posts
  • 77
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
May 27, 2010
Last Seen
15 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me
Retired mathematician and general curmudgeon.

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
I once got nailed by a real-life rueful rabbit.
Regular Bridge Partners
Betty, my one and only.
Favorite Conventions
Transfers, of many, many breeds.
BBO Username
sbloom
ACBL Ranking
Grand Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
One Disillusioned NLM
South's skill level is quite relevant, and, if South is such a weak player as to think that a double demands a heart lead, then North should probably lead a diamond. But there is a world of difference between suspecting that partner might hold the diamond ace and not ...
One Disillusioned NLM
Please read his remarks. He specifically says that the break in tempo can only be because South holds an ace, and the only ace South can possibly hold is in diamonds. Kit argues that the only logical lead ONCE YOU ILLEGALLY KNOW THAT PARTNER HAS AN ACE is in diamonds ...
Missed (Grand) Slam
West had shown something along the lines of xx AKxxx Jxxx xx, or more. Facing that, I'd want to be in seven diamonds. East wanted to be in three notrump. Difference in evaluation, I guess.
One Disillusioned NLM
The remark is authorized to North, who heard it. The huddle is not authorized. During the huddle, East whispered to North, essentially, "Oops. Looks like I messed up and we are off the ace of diamonds." North likely also interpreted the tank correctly. East is entitled to notice the hesitation ...
One Disillusioned NLM
Ron wrote, " Michael, please! Pd Xd the D bid." Look again. North doubled the diamond cue-bid, expecting partner to be on lead against a spade contract. But North wound up on lead against 7NT. No one would question leading a diamond had partner doubled a cue-bid in diamonds. But, here ...
One Disillusioned NLM
"Just read Kit Woolsey's logic in that other thread. As far as I can see seems to be saying W knew the ♦ A is missing, hence 7♠. N knows this too. Why shouldn't he lead a ♦, BIT or not? I think NS were short-changed." I strongly suggest you ...
Honolulu BRP 7NT Lead Discussion
So, suicide not to lead a diamond, and fratricide not to double holding the diamond ace? My partner doesn't double 7NT - I am not leading a diamond. My partner thinks for a while, announcing the diamond ace, then passes. I am not leading a diamond. And we are having ...
Honolulu BRP 7NT Lead Discussion
Jim: 3 is irrelevant. It occurred after the infraction, and can never negate the infraction. 2 is quite relevant, but, given UI, the directors are forced into considering whether there were alternative logical leads. That is not for us to judge - they conducted polls and concluded that a spade lead ...
Honolulu BRP 7NT Lead Discussion
All of the above is obvious, and also completely irrelevant. Case in point: Your opponents have an muddled auction to four spades, and, looking at your spade void, you suspect trumps are not lying well. So you try a speculative double that works out very well. Nice bid! Unfortunately, partner ...
Honolulu BRP 7NT Lead Discussion
So, let me follow this reasoning: You see three burly fellows about to break into your home. One of them has a shotgun and is about to blast the lock. The other two have raised sledge-hammers and are preparing to bust in the door. You scream, "Please, please don't ...
.

Bottom Home Top