I'd overcall 1NT every time. There's a rule that says you can't open 1NT with nine HCP. There's no rule that says you can't overcall 1NT with a singleton nine. There is no way that partner could ever make a bid that would show knowledge ...
South should return the six of clubs. Leading back original 4th best is not correct and is often unreadable. You should lead back an attitude card. If South had only four clubs, he would know that declarer also had four clubs and should lead back a highish club. When the ...
Double = penalties of 1or both minors or one 4-card major
3clubs = 4-4 or 4-5 in majors (use smolen over 3diamonds)
3diamonds = 5+-5+ in majors
3hearts = five spades
3spades = five hearts
Who in ACBL land is in charge of "Alert Procedures" on the web page?
There are two versions on when to alert Puppet Stayman
This is on the alert chart
Next higher level of clubs asking for a four-card or longer major
This is on alert procedures chapter ...
In my experience, when partner alerts that there has been a misbid, at least 80% of players try to take advantage of the alert
either thru ignorance, small dishonesty, or very dishonest. Very few would go out of there way to hang themselves.
If somehow you can persuade the mis-alerter ...
If partner learns that you have a weak-two from your explanation he has
unauthorized information. In Utopia he doesn't use the UI. I guarantee that in the real world,
when the average 2NT bidder learns that his partner has a weak-two
he's going to try to use the ...
Michael. What you and Kit are saying makes a lot of sense. I guess it would be very complicated if the 2diamond bidder had to
say that 2nt asked me to bid 3clubs with more clubs than diamonds, bid 3diamonds with more diamonds than clubs etc. If you said this ...