Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Stu Goodgold

Stu Goodgold
Stu Goodgold
  • 2
    Following
  • 7
    Followers
  • 29
    Posts
  • 1
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 27, 2012
Last Seen
9 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Residing near San Jose (No. California). 

Former D21 District Director;

Former D21 President.

Unit 507 board member.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Being dummy at 7D in a regional holding Kx,-,AKxxxxxxxxx,-. I laid down the all-time best trump support.
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Santa Clara Valley, CA
ACBL Ranking
Gold Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Fact Instead Of Fiction: A True Report on the Denver Regional
Chris, yes there are different violations of the law. My point was that players who decide to make a ruling, even against their own side, are the ones that are apt to make their own ruling in other situations as well. In this case, Mark decided that a tie was ...
Fact Instead Of Fiction: A True Report on the Denver Regional
Peg wrote: "Now, you can claim that Mark should have made sure that the director was aware.... But, I don't think that he was attempting to "make a ruling on his own" nor do something untoward." Well, this is what the OP attributed to Peg on page 7 of ...
Suggestion for ACBL: pay extra for pre-dublicated boards in non-preduplicated board events
Starting in 2015 regionally-rated events no longer count subordinate tables in the A/X Swiss. This was a response to huge Masterpt awards in A/X (especially X) when there was a small A/X flight with a large Gold Rush flight below it. Instead, a fixed multiplier for A ...
Strange feeling I had at the table.
" But as of now I haven't witnessed any opponent calling the director once the pausing player's partner has passed." And I expect you never will. Perhaps it is because almost all players would never consider being so unethical as to hesitate just to keep partner from bidding on ...
Strange feeling I had at the table.
You would be the ethical player. Your partner who pulled off this stunt is the unethical one. If called, the TD should determine if partner's action could have been deliberate, and assess a PP and a stern lecture if they were deemed so.
Suggestion for ACBL: pay extra for pre-dublicated boards in non-preduplicated board events
"Recently, Sunday Swisses often seem to me to be more focused on getting players and staff out as early as possible, rather than providing a quality event." Unfortunately, D21 gave in to requests from the TDs and a minority of vocal A players to remove the 56 bd requirement we ...
Suggestion for ACBL: pay extra for pre-dublicated boards in non-preduplicated board events
Debbie, I did know that the final day of the 4 session Swiss was pre-dealt, and that a few of the top tables at Monterey's Sunday Swiss was also pre-dealt (and our team wasn't privilege to use them). Aside from the 4 session Swiss, this is not a ...
Strange feeling I had at the table.
Partner is allowed to ask the meaning of any call at his turn. So what he did is legal. However, it may have provided you with UI, a situation he could have easily avoided by waiting until you led face down before asking questions. Since you are in possession of ...
Suggestion for ACBL: pay extra for pre-dublicated boards in non-preduplicated board events
Our district pays an outside agent to make our pre-duped boards. It runs about $15 per board set. The district considers it part of the cost of running the regional. We don't intent to increase entry fees from our current $12, even if we decide to do more pre-duped ...
Effect of the Recent ACBL Rules about opening 1NT with a singleton
Michael B: I would say you are right. 1N cannot have two meanings, one natural if 14-16, and one conventional if 15+, unless you define when each 1N applies. For example, you can have 1N = 14-16 'natural' if non-vul, and 15+ any semi-balanced shape vul.
.

Bottom Home Top