Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Wayne Somerville

Wayne Somerville
Wayne Somerville
  • 1
    Following
  • 2
    Followers
  • 43
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
April 26, 2012
Last Seen
July 14
Member Type
bridge player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Defend this hand
There are many great linguists out there, I am not one of them. I don't mean to imply you're letting it through if partner does have Axx and you fail to switch to hearts, but rather that a heart is successful if partner does (and if fact, you ...
Defend this hand
When I was posed the hand on BBO, my gut was telling me to switch to a heart playing partner for Qxxx or Axx, but felt it was close between a heart and continuing clubs. The problem with a diamond is that it needs quite a lot to be the ...
Wayne Somerville's bidding problem: QJT AKQ3 Q AKJ87
For those commenting on the 2C opener, it wasn't me that opened it (I'm also a 1C opener), I was actually the hand that bid 4S. 5H was the winning action when 4S turned out to be the rare profitable vul-vs-not sac and in fact pretty unlucky not ...
Auction Whacking
From the Junior Camrose once, (1H)-2H-(P)-2S (P)-P-(3D)-P (P)-3S-(P)-P (4D)-P-(P)-4S-AP In the Camrose just past, I also had: 1S-(2D)-2S-(3D) 3S-(4D)-4S-(X)-AP The contract was cold on both occasions. edit: Just remembered another one ...
Claim Ruling
If he states or implies he's pitching hearts, that's another story and would rule down one then. I think you need to make some assumptions on how the play would go without the claim or you just end up with non-sensible claim disputes. This isn't so different ...
Claim Ruling
Declarer stated he was pitching 2 losers. He is effectively pitching a winner if he pitches a heart so I make it EW +670, but with a warning to make the line clearer.
Wayne Somerville's bidding problem: 98763 --- K8 KJ9765
I think West knows what major his partner has, he did pass 3H and it would be quite a view to psyche a pass vulnerable when neither opponent has acted. http://bridgewebs.com/cgi-bin/bwoj/bw.cgi?pid=display_rank&msec=1&sessid=78996996057036&event=20171015_3&wd=1&club=niburesults Board ...
The Worst Convention Ever
Until very recently, one of my partners insisted on playing fishbein. It only took me about 3.5 years to convince him to take it off the card.
One useful strategy after your side 1 nt opening
I've had that strategy used against me, it brought in a lot of imps... for me. You'll lose 5-6 imps for being in the wrong partscore a lot more often than getting to a game you wouldn't normally bid.
Tricky grand
I considered leaving the K for later. The problem from what I can see is that when you start cashing the clubs at the end, East can just ruff the K if he started with 2-4-4-3 and you will be stranded in hand and have to concede a spade to ...
.

Bottom Home Top