Join Bridge Winners
A Laws Question - Declarer plays third to trick before second.

At the local club today this situation arose: Declarer plays a card from dummy, and before his right-hand opponent plays a card, he also plays a card from hand. In reaction to seeing a card played by declarer, the fourth player to play a card to the trick plays a card before his partner has played a card yet. While this was entirely immaterial to the hand, it incited an argument. ("You can't do that." - "I saw you play a card and didn't notice my partner hadn't." - "I can play my card any time I want and I don't care that you didn't see, it's illegal." - etc.)

How should the laws be interpreted in relation to this and would declarer have any right to redress, hypothetically, should it matter? Or has he jeopardized all his rights?

8 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top