Join Bridge Winners
Arrogant or Obvious

West
A108
AKQ62
KJ
J103
North
Q76
108
Q8765
Q86
East
KJ95432
J95
3
42
South
743
A10942
AK975
W
N
E
S
P
1
P
4
P
P
P
D
4 East
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

A very long time (60's) ago. 

Top expert final in a prestigious National event. 

South, a passed had cashed his A/AK. 

No doubt Justin and Brad (and just about all of us) find South's pass .....unbelievable, but not the point. South passed in both rooms! (no, Al Roth was not present.) 

East, Declarer "put his cards back in the board". (Knowing, but not saying South could not have the queen of trumps having already showed 11  HCPs and being a passed hand. 

Which as TBW writer labeled "an act that has always stuck me as unbearably smug and arrogant."  He called East's action "highly indiscreet".  He was not alone. 

North "naturally howled for the director. (We could almost hear it 15 floors away.)" 

It was a different era, we can all accept that. Director awarded NS a trick as "East's action constituted a claim without a statement of how he intended to play the hand."

Do experts, playing with one another, enjoy a level of understanding beyond us mere mortals? Yes. Does that pardon East? Or North? You be the judge. 

Answer as many as you like. 

NS were correct to object.
NS were wrong to object.
Then, NS OK, now silly.
Then or now, NS inappropriate.
Such gambits among fellow experts is fine.
Such gambits among fellow experts are inappropriate.
East did not follow the rules and deserves the result.
The director was correct.
Other, please explain.

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
47 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top