Join Bridge Winners
Backing into an Average Plus

Sometimes a disaster is not as bad as it seems...

West
42
J632
AKJ87
87
North
KJ53
Q1084
953
102
East
109876
A7
Q6
J643
South
AQ
K95
1042
AKQ95
W
N
E
S
P
1
1
X
1
2
P
P
P
D
2 South
NS: 0 EW: 0

So over 2 partner accidentally pulled out the pass card and as soon as it hits the table says oops, and obviously the whole table knew what happened, but RHO passed and picked up his cards.  I would have hoped that they would have acknowledged that he obviously did not intend to pass and let him take it back, but the rules are the rules, so there we were in 2D. This situation is relatively common and it is interesting to see people's viewpoints on how this should be handled.

So West led a high Diamond and then shifted to a spade.  I played 2 rounds of clubs and ruffed a club and played another trump.  Now all I lost was 5 diamond tricks and the Ace of Hearts for down 1.  I was about to shrug off a "disaster" then I started thinking that, wait a second, there's going to be a lot of minus scores as nothing makes.  3NT is down 2, 3 Clubs is down 1, if NS can find Hearts that makes 3 if you guess everything perfectly, but a precarious fit as well.  Sure enough we got 14 out of 25 Matchpoints.  I guess justice was served as who knows where we would have ended up. Laughing

 

 

2 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top